IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ask the GSM!
Leo
post Jan 31 2018, 05:06 PM
Post #61


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,538
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Claphham
Member No.: 44



If I buy the "open mind" status and consequently can't use mind bar, can I skip it on the passive tables?


hope you just can't use it anymore.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darkended
post Jan 31 2018, 10:51 PM
Post #62


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 509
Joined: 3-May 08
From: Over there! *points*
Member No.: 497



A Spy with an abnormally large number of Neural Foci (lets say for this example he has 15) multi-classes para-psychic, before realising the potion restriction is too tough for him to handle. If he was to buy "Strength of Body", removing the restriction but limiting the number of foci he is able to buy, do the foci beyond that level simply stop working for him, or do they still work but he just can't aquire more in the future?

Ta! smile.gif

The spy regrets his early life choices, and considers what he could do with his unusable foci.

Lee


--------------------
- Matt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
isbiraven
post Feb 2 2018, 09:22 PM
Post #63


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,102
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 98



Goblin wayfinder... pay the same as assassin for hobgoblin?

Depends on what your app says since they can't start as wayfinders normally smile.gif

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sharperoc
post Feb 7 2018, 11:55 AM
Post #64


Peon
*

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 31-August 11
Member No.: 2,027



The races book I'm looking at states 'Athfanal may join professional guilds with the guild masters permission, and they may only belong to Athfanal social or professional guilds'

Should the second part read 'may only belong to Athfanal social or political guilds'?

While I'm on Athfanal, are you able to clarify what the benefits of 'Skinning' are? Unable to find anything clear on it in the books other than 'allowing animal hides/fur to be turned into armour', presumably this means people without the 'skinning' skill can't?

Yes should be Social or Political.
Basically correct. You can skin a wolf/bear/balrog and turn it into armour and wear.

Lee



--------------------
Stevie Harper
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phoenix13
post Feb 8 2018, 07:06 PM
Post #65


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 240
Joined: 30-September 16
From: Kent
Member No.: 4,986



Can a faerie be a spy? I've thought about it and it would be fun.

No.

Lee


--------------------
Gremin - warrior priest - 954pts
Kirito - oriental monk - fortune - 204pts
Channor (nature) - high druid ratfolk - 440pts
Astro - Red/blue faerie - wizard - 310pts
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Harrumph
post Feb 13 2018, 08:44 PM
Post #66


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,313
Joined: 23-November 07
From: check length
Member No.: 58



Hi,

Combat agility - first jump in a series of jumps - you are may not be struck during the jump

Is the important bit the first jump or the series of jumps

e.g. if I have the ability and I jump once but don't jump again quickly afterwards am I not able to be struck? or am I not able to be struck only if I do more than one jump in quick succession?

sorry if it is a small point and totally obvious

thanks
Richard

So you use a jump and can't be struck. If you jump again you can be struck.
There needs to be a definite break in the jumps for it to restart, so not jump, run two steps and then jump again.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Edd
post Feb 20 2018, 02:55 PM
Post #67


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 424
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Edenbridge
Member No.: 80



A second class paladin to 6th can do which of the following:

a) Buy innates up the tree to Total Heal, but not restore life (because they can't cast above their level)
cool.gif Buy innates up to Restore Life, but can't cast the Res (but can then purchase Holy Words - essentially a 100 point tax until they go to 8th)
c) Buy and cast innates up to Restore Life, because they aren't a priest so aren't limited.

Thanks,

Edd

Option A, unless they are an 8th level priest, at which point they can cats 8th level miracles.

Lee


--------------------
The Place Spirit of Season's Winding - Immortal Seasonal Place Spirit
Alistair Flashblade - Armoured Priest of the Balance
Ishan bin Akir - Galahbhad Paladin
Loads of others who never get past 250...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miles
post Feb 20 2018, 05:34 PM
Post #68


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,982
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 142



When using priest of the runes ability to cast handbook miracles as runes eg Cause disease does it become a miracle of the relevant sphere so you would be able to apply spirit reductions from wound bringer.


Miles

No its still warding.

Lee


--------------------
The game is not always about balance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ThatRandomGuy
post Feb 20 2018, 10:00 PM
Post #69


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 168
Joined: 30-September 13
From: the walrus pit
Member No.: 3,033



Is the temp life gained from the titan multirace able to stack with itself?

Nope, abilities don't stack with themselves unless they specifically say they do.

Lee


--------------------
Reece Hutton
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bendy
post Feb 25 2018, 07:48 PM
Post #70


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 11-March 16
Member No.: 4,749



Just a quick few on neutralities, specifically vs undead

1. As I understand it neutrality means you can't attack then and vice versa.

Can you control an undead you are neutral to?

If so can you send them back to their home plane?

Again if so can you control them to attack stuff?

Can you use serins bound spirit if undeath if you are neutral to the undead you are binding, only it says the undead dies?

Cheers

So, you can control them, but can't tell them to leave the plane.
Ordering them to get killed deliberately is a No, but ordering your ghoul to paralyse people is ok.
Serins is also ok.

Basically don't abuse it.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iainwimble
post Feb 26 2018, 11:20 PM
Post #71


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,561
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 87



Ok right I know that a Troll cannot benefit fully from 1/2 effect Fire from Table 3 but can they benefit from the below stuff to gain 1/2 Fire.

Walk Though Fire spells
Resist Fire (Druid Evocation)
Neuromastery Fire (Self)

Thanks Iain

correct except trolls can't have neuronic.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
draco
post Feb 27 2018, 09:50 AM
Post #72


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 740
Joined: 22-July 08
From: Sidcup
Member No.: 598



Does having fortitude and mantic armour mean that your PAC applies to purely spiritual through damage if you can utilise the spiritual side of the armour?

yes your Pac applies. So vs pure spirit quad thru your Pac works vs cause grievous by blow no.

Lee


--------------------
James Isteed

Isteed.Labyrinthe@outlook.com

(the big one)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
graham1980
post Mar 3 2018, 04:27 PM
Post #73


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 465
Joined: 16-January 09
From: Hertfordshire
Member No.: 810



If a dwarven wizard MC to Mana vortex, is that mana pool halved aswell as it counts as a seperate source, similarly, do items that grant a mana store get halved??

Thanks

Vortex yes. Mana stores are items so aren't.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Button88
post Mar 4 2018, 01:05 PM
Post #74


Peon
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 13-November 17
From: London
Member No.: 6,319



Do you pass the threshold for a table once you've spent the points or when you have the points?

Example: if have spent 0 but have saved 200, can I buy an ability from table 2 or do I have to spend 200 first then buy off of a table. For instance, a grey wizard wants to buy chromatic for 200 on table 2. Do they first have to spend 200 to get to table 2 then save 200 to buy it, or can they save 200 and buy the ability taking them straight to table 2.

Hope that makes sense

Thanks 😀

When you reach the points, so you can save up.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bendy
post Mar 5 2018, 11:00 AM
Post #75


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 11-March 16
Member No.: 4,749



.
Not that I'm planning on playing an evil priest anytime soon but with regard to Summon Vampire it says the vampire can turn into a bat, rat and wolf at will.

In these forms can they do any damage? (am guessing not)

Do they retain the hits the vampire had when it transformed?

Can they be harmed in these forms (kind of thinking they could be subject to range attacks but probably not touch / blows as tricky to hit a rat etc)

Cheers

Ben

It's all a bit vague but:
Wolf - You can probably fight and be hit normally.
Bat - You are a flying bat so can't hit people and can fly
Rat - Like a bat, but rather than fly can fit through small holes.

Otherwise yes they retain the hits and stuff.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhurrell
post Mar 7 2018, 09:15 AM
Post #76


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 610
Joined: 18-October 14
Member No.: 3,966



Scout “recognise” abilities - eg neuronic, EP, spirit

I’m spiritless - can I recognise spirit? Assuming not, as says as per priest ability which would be a spiritual info effect?

I buy vessel of the dragons MR (the ‘magic only’ one, I think that’s what it’s called!)

Do I at some point lose the ability to recognise neuronics and EP I’d owned?

Thanks
Dave

They are the relevant powerbase. Same is true for scholar now.

So magic only means only rec mana.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alasdair
post Mar 9 2018, 10:40 AM
Post #77


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 943
Joined: 5-December 07
Member No.: 208



Hi

All priests can MC Spiritual Vessel.

A spirit warrior buying this MC... as written they can use and benefit fully. Thus they can cast from the separate spirit pool. And there is nothing written about sharp weapon restrictions.

Could a Sp Warrior with a bastard sword (say) therefore buy and benefit fully. Or is there some 'missing wording' requiring spiritual choice, blunt weapons, etc. Guessing it is fine as written, but wanted to check.

Alasdair

[I] No as written Spirit warriors can't have spirits unless they buy the ability to, so can't use the spirits.

Lee [/I}
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheOG
post Mar 9 2018, 11:42 AM
Post #78


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 949
Joined: 15-April 09
From: Clapham Common
Member No.: 964



QUOTE(iainwimble @ Feb 26 2018, 11:20 PM) *
Ok right I know that a Troll cannot benefit fully from 1/2 effect Fire from Table 3 but can they benefit from the below stuff to gain 1/2 Fire.

Walk Though Fire spells
Resist Fire (Druid Evocation)
Neuromastery Fire (Self)

Thanks Iain

correct except trolls can't have neuronic.

Lee



Where does it say trolls cannot? (Evo races? OC?) I couldn't find it within the current rules)

Og

It seems to be an omission. trolls can't learn Neuronics.

Lee


--------------------
Mark V, Aka OG.

Making Middle-age look easy since 2003
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheOG
post Mar 9 2018, 12:11 PM
Post #79


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 949
Joined: 15-April 09
From: Clapham Common
Member No.: 964



HI.

There is a massive disparity in the information for playing a half troll between Realm of Glass and Evolution: Races.
This being the case, which post 8th list is to be referenced?

cheers

Og

Evolution Races is correct, except for the fact they still can't learn Neuronics.

Lee


--------------------
Mark V, Aka OG.

Making Middle-age look easy since 2003
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stuart
post Mar 9 2018, 05:09 PM
Post #80


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,395
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 39



Can an Ishmaic High wizard:

1. Carry a magical glaive, and
2. Parry with it?

The descriptions of Ishmaics and Glaives seem very keen to let them have them. And is it a short spear, or dagger with a long handle for system purposes?

Stuart

Glaive is a short spear.

You could carry a glaive, but still couldn't parry with it as you can't use weapons.

Lee

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd May 2018 - 04:17 AM
Original Darkness Skin Created by Danellis
Converted by Mdgshorty of New Horizon Skins