IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ask the GSM!
ChrisAndrews
post Jan 3 2017, 11:09 AM
Post #41


Tiffer
********

Group: Members
Posts: 3,137
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 34



Priests gain "Create Minor/Major Runic Item" at 7 & 8th. Are these specialist skills in the same way that the Wizard makes are specialist skills? Specifically I'm thinking about if you can by them off the all tables if you've got buy as priest but aren't a 7th level priest.

There is a priest option to buy them, in the same way a wizard can. If you buy as priest you can buy them, but there are rules for making below 8th level.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SamR
post Jan 3 2017, 04:21 PM
Post #42


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 517
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 92



Do all abilities that require prep time require that ability to be used immediately following the prep or can they be 'stored' up for later? Examples of the top of my head include: strike death blow, affinity with nature, flick of the wrist, mighty strikes and permutations but there are many more.

Thanks
Sam

yes they do scorpion. Concentration also can't be done when being hit/actively parrying monsters or the like.

I also remind people about the rules for locs being severed applies to corpses.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Edd
post Jan 4 2017, 10:38 AM
Post #43


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 391
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Biggin Hill
Member No.: 80



Why does a mantic mana Shield or earth Shield kill you (assuming say, human) but a mantic spirit invisibility doesn't?

Now that mancer is trivially available for wizards and priests, surely these should read the same? (Which should hopefully be as perantic spirit invis...)

Just looking for understanding smile.gif

Because it got written that way. Also system balance wise mantic neutral spirits is not as hard as mantic grey mana or mantic brown.

Lee


--------------------
The Place Spirit of Season's Winding - Immortal Seasonal Place Spirit
Alistair Flashblade - Armoured Priest of the Balance
Ishan bin Akir - Galahbhad Paladin
Loads of others who never get past 250...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bendy
post Jan 4 2017, 02:13 PM
Post #44


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 11-March 16
Member No.: 4,749



Hihi

The neuronic status 'Silent Killer' lets you upgrade a neuronic penetration to a neuronic blast once per target at stage 3. If you are a level 6 telekinetic does the ability that lets you use a neuronic blast as a telekinetic one work with the blast that's been upgraded via silent killer.

Also can the two free neuronic penetrations from psycher a minute be upgraded as normal to a neuronic blast if you have silent killer?

Cheers

Ben

Nope, you'd need the ability to cast telekinetic blast.

yes you can use the free pens.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chaz
post Jan 5 2017, 02:59 PM
Post #45


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 145
Joined: 5-January 08
Member No.: 286



Rasha Humans (If they still exist) - Can they buy additional Innates of their Elder Fey Minor Power as it says in the Elder Fey multi race?

Rasha - Any G or N alignment. All are ' fey blooded humans'; as human but gain a single Elder Fey Minor power (if power has Innates, calculated as if L6 of that M/R.) May only M/R published Elder Fey. Cannot join a political or professional guild, but may join social guilds freely.

Thanks

Nope, they'd need to go Elder gfey for that.

Lee


--------------------
Banks Flashblade - Rasha Mystic
Clopin - Rasha Psi Master
Hassan Bin Mihr - Athar Crol Monk
Sterius - Alfar Forest Guardian
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DavidFisher
post Jan 22 2017, 12:05 PM
Post #46


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 3,529
Joined: 28-March 08
From: Ottershaw
Member No.: 446



What does Senseless Vision actually do...? I guess it lets you operate in darkness, mists and fog etc. but given it basically says you have "senseless vision" does it work if you are blinded?

Is it better than Wanderer's Hunch (if yes, how?)

Cheers

David


Blindness still works. It means you can see through things like Darkness, Mist, and stuff like that. It doesn't let you see invised people or similar.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hulud
post Jan 22 2017, 10:37 PM
Post #47


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 28-February 09
From: Woodford Green
Member No.: 891



I've seen this question asked before under a different GSM and I know at least one player has done a points app to protect existing points apps post rebirth.

The question is -

Post rebirth can the same character, generally speaking, re-use points apps previously applied for by that character?


Would a points app 'Genetic Memory' be a good way to try to keep points apps through to a next rebirth?


Sorry, I realise this might have a better home in the Yellow Paper section but it's a GMS ruling I require!


Cheers!

A points app won't help.
The answer is it depends. However the rule is:

If you rebirth and want to buy a points app from pre-rebirth you have to check it with me. It all depends on your previous spend/this one.

So if you follow the battle master route and get stuff passed then rebirth as a warrior/priest chances are they won't get signed on. If however you rebirth as a warrior and go battle master agin you are probably fine.

Lee


--------------------
Neil.

PM box FULL - Please EMAIL me instead: neilmillard1@googlemail.com


-------------------------------------
Conroy Suman:Grey Wizard,Nicosia Roguri: Pathfinder,Valentine:Champion,Keyser Kint:Thug,Boone:Scout,Virgil:Oppressed Troll Ranger,Doris the Dagger:Drag queen/negotiator,Sid Snout:Editor of the Sunsday Snort.

He boiled for your sins

Ramen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Onasuma
post Jan 26 2017, 03:02 PM
Post #48


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,495
Joined: 14-December 07
Member No.: 242



Vessel of the Spirits and One with Nature both say they don't work with any other form of power regen. Is this specific to the power base they grant (and thus someone could benefit from being both at once) or does regaining one prohibit regaining the other for that influx?

Pete Long

you can't regen both at the same time.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ironcore
post Jan 28 2017, 12:46 PM
Post #49


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 234
Joined: 4-September 09
Member No.: 1,177



Mana user 'Specialist Slots', wizard and rogue etc, with teaching scrolls,
you can fill with standard spells with no limit or 'advanced spells' at a rate of 1.5 scrolls per table threshold.

Standard spells can be any colour not opposite.

Advanced spells must match colour, available to all or be in the 'elemental' bracket if your a basic colour?

If you have no colour or no fixed colour which 'advanced spells' could you learn from teaching scrolls?

Andy

So splitting the above out.

You fill specialist slots with teaching scrolls. Teaching scrolls of standard spells do not count towards your cap.

To learn advance spells they have to be of the correct colour, or class (EG Witch Doctor). You can't learn advance spells if they are not.

Some classes (Rogues with Elemental Student, Grey Wizards with Elementalists) can learn advance spells not of their colour. If they do this with teaching scrolls they count towards their cap.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post Jan 29 2017, 05:47 PM
Post #50


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,675
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



Am I correct in that Non-Goodly Priests can now buy Spiritual Healer?

The bit that stated you had to be goodly has gone but the flavour text mentions goodly. Is that just a minor oversight?

BBB

Yes they can.

Lee


--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Helsvell
post Feb 5 2017, 06:52 AM
Post #51


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,956
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Medway
Member No.: 47



The "Advocate of " druid ability states at the start that you can upgrade one of your chosen fields. Which implies you keep the other two chosen fields. At the end of the ability it states "the druids may not hold any other chosen fields beyond the one they have advocacy in".

So the question is - do you keep the other two chosen fields if you gain the advocacy ability?

Thanks,

Peter

You get one field.

Lee


--------------------
Peter Smith
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iainwimble
post Feb 5 2017, 05:14 PM
Post #52


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,468
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 87



Does the Goblin Life Cap apply if they take Hobgoblin Muti Race ??.

Iain

Yes. I'm not against reviewing it thought in a while and see how it is working.

Lee

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alasdair
post Feb 6 2017, 04:31 PM
Post #53


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 876
Joined: 5-December 07
Member No.: 208



Two questions...

Wizard class status "Natural Talent" means gaining specialists, "having a go" at a spell you cannot ordinarily cast, etc. I assume this is entirely standard and can be used as normal if purchased by a Power Master. (which also means Power Masters can buy new spellls at a sensible Pts cost). Please advise?

No power masters can only cast spells of their own colour. So in theory you could use it to cast a 10th level spell of your own colour if you only had 8th level casting. It wouldn't let you cast other spells without other abilities.

Lee


Paladins (and GK/UCs) buy as... do you still no longer count as bracket pure if you purchase innates of L6 or above? (And what about more advanced miracles)?

Paladins etc. are bracket pure warrior subclasses regardless of innates they buy. They can't buy advance innates anymore.
This doesn't mean they can have totals and be a battlemaster.


Thanks,

Alasdair
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Josh0808
post Feb 9 2017, 05:19 PM
Post #54


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 157
Joined: 19-October 13
From: Kent
Member No.: 3,102



Hey is it true that you can play an Elf like Fire but be a different colour as long as it's not the races opposite colour?



Thanks Josh.W

No. Some people have done it with points apps, or from rebirths but nor standardly.

Lee


--------------------
Josh Westcott
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JackFlashblade
post Feb 12 2017, 01:39 PM
Post #55


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,129
Joined: 1-December 07
Member No.: 190



Can someone who is spirit formed use fore arm parry?

C

Only vs weapons with a physical component.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bendy
post Feb 12 2017, 10:13 PM
Post #56


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 11-March 16
Member No.: 4,749



With the status private sector work, are the now physical info effects still neuronics so immune to neuronics applies or are they more like telekinetics so immune to neuronics wouldnt apply (kind of thinking the latter as they are physical but not sure)

Correct, you'd need either rim physical or imm physical info effects.

Also would a physical probe on a physical undead reveal its dismiss name? Sort of thinking the undead has to know its own name given otherwise wouldnt know to be dismissed wink.gif plus it would cost 36 base life smile.gif
Depends n the undead. Zombie/non-intelligent undead probably doesn't. A ghoul/similar might depending on what they are. Intelligent undead would.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ryan
post Feb 16 2017, 05:24 PM
Post #57


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,676
Joined: 23-June 08
From: Essex
Member No.: 574



Golden Golem has a specific caveat that means if you have a spirit you can cast touch range things through it and people with a spirit can unarmed combat hit you.


If cast manticaly I'd like to know which is true;

1) I am immune to all forms of unarmed but can't cast touch range spells and miracles (seems odd as the spell was created for healers to get stuck in).

2) I am still effected by unarmed from those with a spirit and I can still use touch range abilities if I have a spirit.


Thanks

if you cast a mantic golden golem you can't be touched (inc unarmed) by any one not immune to aura of defence. If some was pure neuronic then they'd get through. This means you can't touch people.

Lee


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dave
post Feb 16 2017, 05:27 PM
Post #58


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,174
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Petts Wood
Member No.: 62



If a troll has intelligence as human does this get round their normal casting restrictions unless states it in points app

Dave

not unless it says so. I think I answered this about trolls and fortune, but the same broadly applies across the line.

Lee


--------------------
16 odd years since Chernobyl disaster, is it only me annoyed by no super heroes yet?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bendy
post Feb 26 2017, 04:47 PM
Post #59


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 11-March 16
Member No.: 4,749



Had two different answers to this one so thought id ask the boss.

If you m/c 6th priest can you buy and cast 7th and 8th level miracles or do you need to take priest to 8th?

Cheers

Ben

I assume this means you are a troll going priest. Buying the ability as a "troll" to cast above 4th gets around the Cast at 1/2 your level restriction, not the priest restriction of can only cast up to your level.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bendy
post Feb 26 2017, 06:44 PM
Post #60


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 11-March 16
Member No.: 4,749



QUOTE(bendy @ Feb 26 2017, 04:47 PM) *
Had two different answers to this one so thought id ask the boss.

If you m/c 6th priest can you buy and cast 7th and 8th level miracles or do you need to take priest to 8th?

Cheers

Ben

I assume this means you are a troll going priest. Buying the ability as a "troll" to cast above 4th gets around the Cast at 1/2 your level restriction, not the priest restriction of can only cast up to your level.

Lee


Yeah i knew about the half troll casting restrictions which are 100 pts to get over i think just wasnt clear on the priest cast up to level one although planned to go 8th anyway smile.gif Cheers boss
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 04:20 PM
Original Darkness Skin Created by Danellis
Converted by Mdgshorty of New Horizon Skins