IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ask the GSM!
Nibs
post Jul 27 2017, 02:58 PM
Post #141


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 19-February 08
Member No.: 388



Demon Slayer MC: Slayer's Blow - "May strike a single blow (or empower a single damaging spell/miracle) such that it will harm any demonkind which was capable of harming the Demon-Slayer"

Does Sabre of Light & Truth (sword of power, fireblade etc.) count as a single damaging spell, or just one blow from the sabre?

Sabre is a summoning spell not a damaging one smile.gif So just a single blow.

Lee


--------------------
Nibs
Plays:
[REDACTED] Tarkin (Black Seer)
Tubbs (750pts Border Friar)
Shugoki (250pts Amlesian ogre magi warrior of the jewel)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
5h1v
post Jul 30 2017, 09:30 PM
Post #142


Peon
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 28-January 16
Member No.: 4,686



2 quick questions I hope:

What is the Max AC of a vivomancer?

Can a vivomancer join a church?

6, and they are hermits so can only join a church if the church benefits say they can, so Unity for example.

I've been open that a "first ability post 8th" points app of is a member of X church is always pretty cheap.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatteacher
post Jul 31 2017, 09:49 PM
Post #143


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,715
Joined: 2-February 10
From: Guildford
Member No.: 1,355



Hi Lee

Can you clarify who can use mantic items please?

Warrior types and scouts - not unless they have utilise spirit item?

Wizards - not unless they have utilise spirit item?

Priests - ??

Thank you
Andy

It depends on the item. To inflict spirit damage you need utilise spirit item. To inflict magic damage with a sword (even a mantic one) you need utilise magic item.

Lee



--------------------
Andy

......................................
Godric Snowsson - Ice Mana Knight / Warrior 5k
Ginkgo Panama (aka 'Dead Man Walking') - Kensai 3.1k
Grandbow - Human Spirit Warrior - 570pts
Noyen Nopac Zu - Snake Clan Monk 1.9k

'It can't rain all the time!'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Harrumph
post Aug 6 2017, 06:54 AM
Post #144


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,267
Joined: 23-November 07
From: check length
Member No.: 58



Hi, can you please confirm how elemental sight works (standard Handbook elementals)

They can see their own colour of magic and the opposite?
They can see physical?
Can they see other colours of magic?

If a magical darkness surrounds their colour if magic (E. G. Somebody with a fireblade has a magical darkness up) can an undie see through the magical darkness to see the fire blade?

Thanks
Richard

Elements see their own, opposite and other elements. They don't see physically but if a person isn't immune to magic they can see them.
Darkness does block their vision.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bendy
post Aug 7 2017, 02:50 PM
Post #145


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 11-March 16
Member No.: 4,749



Hihi

With 'rushed thoughts' the 30 pts neuronic ability that lets you ignore prep time for comms it says no other enhancements may be used. Just wondering what enhancements are defined as. Do passive type abilities that let you know if you comms are being deceived / protect you from backlash count as an enhancement?

If I can split my comm questions is this an enhancement?

Cheers

Ben

Passive upgrades, like shielded enquiry/injuction are ok, but "get one word answers from minor precog" wouldn't be unless it statted it did.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatteacher
post Aug 7 2017, 10:20 PM
Post #146


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,715
Joined: 2-February 10
From: Guildford
Member No.: 1,355



Hi Lee

Does 'Immunity to Call Location' have any affect on causing sent on wings of darkness please? For example, an evil priest casting 'cause serious - head'

Thank you

No.

Lee


--------------------
Andy

......................................
Godric Snowsson - Ice Mana Knight / Warrior 5k
Ginkgo Panama (aka 'Dead Man Walking') - Kensai 3.1k
Grandbow - Human Spirit Warrior - 570pts
Noyen Nopac Zu - Snake Clan Monk 1.9k

'It can't rain all the time!'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Archie
post Aug 10 2017, 01:14 PM
Post #147


Nightsoil


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 23-March 17
Member No.: 5,562



QUOTE(bendy @ Aug 7 2017, 03:50 PM) *
Hihi

With 'rushed thoughts' the 30 pts neuronic ability that lets you ignore prep time for comms it says no other enhancements may be used. Just wondering what enhancements are defined as. Do passive type abilities that let you know if you comms are being deceived / protect you from backlash count as an enhancement?

If I can split my comm questions is this an enhancement?

Cheers

Ben

Passive upgrades, like shielded enquiry/injuction are ok, but "get one word answers from minor precog" wouldn't be unless it statted it did.

Lee


And can I ask how the enhanced mind effect for asking precog/major precog questions one-by-one works? Do you do the prep time for the first question and then save them up? or do you have to do the full prep for each question? What is the life cost associated with this ability

Assuming you mean Enlightened mind.
Precog/major precog means you have to decide the questions before you start. Enlightened mind means you can ask a question, then the next and so on. It doesn't effect the prep or anything, just lets you decide the questions in order, not at the start.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
draco
post Aug 16 2017, 06:48 PM
Post #148


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 722
Joined: 22-July 08
From: Sidcup
Member No.: 598



Do non-standard abilities that emulate tables abilities stack with them?

I.E. a multiclass that grants 1 point off per level when wearing armour combined with armour mastery

Or DAC from non-standard classes combining with tables and scout classes/multiclasses

Only is they say they do.
For class Dac (or similar) work on the rule pathfinder doesn't attack with budoka but does with acrobat.

Lee


--------------------
James Isteed

(the big one)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Forefallen
post Aug 16 2017, 07:57 PM
Post #149


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 197
Joined: 2-December 14
Member No.: 4,026



Wind dancer life at 8th is 51/15, but 7th is 48/16, is this a typo and it's meant to be 51/17?

You have 29/9? or more sensibly 51/17 is correct.

Lee


--------------------
Tarek - Ishmaic Psi/dancer Golem -
Kurai - Amlesian Monk
Jata - Amlesian Troll Shaman
Laurelion - Ebony Drave Silver/Jade Wizard
Killian - Half Dark Elf Red Warlock
Joshua De Fontaine - Pure Priest/Legendary Shaehan Assassin
Sun'so - Amlesian Wizard
Amatir - Mortimancer
Sparek - Black/Brown/Silver Faerie Blanket
Alfie Autumn - Human Mystic with a twist
Hilliam Wunt - Lets not talk about this one...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bendy
post Aug 17 2017, 07:37 AM
Post #150


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 11-March 16
Member No.: 4,749



Hihi

With 'Shielded Enquiries' the 60 points comm priest ability do you get to know what the fx you are going to suffer is before choosing whether to fall unconscious or take less damage? (am thinking not and it's more like a dying fx)

Also do you get the answer to the Comm or do you just take the negative effect?

Cheers

Ben

As with dying effects you get to know what you are being hit with before you apply it.

Broadly optional defences vs attacks get to know the attack first, but need to decided at the time. If you start trying to work out what you would take then you don't apply anything.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ethuil
post Aug 24 2017, 04:02 PM
Post #151


Plot Dump NPC
********

Group: Members
Posts: 3,516
Joined: 2-May 08
From: Valinor
Member No.: 495



The Druid book states that you can only cast evocations of your level or lower. The Priest book states that you cannot cast a miracle of a higher level than your own using your own spirits.

If you multiclass them to 6th level, can you (ever) cast 7th/8th level miracles/evocations?

It's possible I'm just not seeing this in the classes rules, if so then sorry!

Broadly no, you need to go to 7/8, standarly

Lee


--------------------
- Rebecca
PS: My inbox is full on purpose. Please email stantz[at]gmail[dot]com if you need to get hold of me.
PPS: I just published my debut novel (:O) - check it out here if you like historical fantasy! - https://goo.gl/9YFgyL
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
isbiraven
post Aug 25 2017, 08:03 PM
Post #152


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,918
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 98



Path of blood says that can not use blunt only sharp weapons...

So if a witch or a warrior priest takes path of blood... do they get the ability to use a sword instead of a mace or cudgel?

you can use sharp weapons.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Leo
post Aug 28 2017, 06:42 PM
Post #153


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,524
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Claphham
Member No.: 44



QUOTE(ethuil @ Aug 24 2017, 05:02 PM) *
The Druid book states that you can only cast evocations of your level or lower. The Priest book states that you cannot cast a miracle of a higher level than your own using your own spirits.

If you multiclass them to 6th level, can you (ever) cast 7th/8th level miracles/evocations?

It's possible I'm just not seeing this in the classes rules, if so then sorry!

Broadly no, you need to go to 7/8, standardly

Lee


Hang on, does this mean that a character MCed to 6th level priest can buy 8th level innates, but someone MCed to 6th level druid can't?

No it doesn't.

Lee

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jj420
post Sep 5 2017, 06:36 PM
Post #154


Apprentice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 26-January 16
Member No.: 4,677



Is it posible to start a charcter as demon touched?

Yes

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ikwos
post Sep 6 2017, 12:00 AM
Post #155


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 119
Joined: 6-July 17
From: Brentwood
Member No.: 6,075



Hi Lee,

What is the Benefit to buying 9th Level resistance to spirits and magic?

Cheers,

Simon.

It means level based effects need to be higher to work on you.

So a sleep effecting 8 levels wouldn't work on you.

Lee


--------------------
Cheers,

Simon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alasdair
post Sep 7 2017, 09:38 PM
Post #156


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 876
Joined: 5-December 07
Member No.: 208



Couple of priestly questions, please:

Does 'warrior of the faith' (post 6th Defender of the Faith / Weapons Priest) stop you buying Spiritual Vessel MR. Guessing not as you are still only in the priest bracket per the description?


Spirit Warriors can buy Priestly Spiritual Acceptance (to be as a 0sp priest). Can you then buy Priestly Believer and benefit, or do you have to (Non standardly) go Devout Priest for more general spirits (as opposed to Spiritual XXX)?

Cheers

Alasdair

No you are still in the priest bracket.

You could, if you really wanted to buy spiritual choice and go Priestly believer.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chaz
post Sep 11 2017, 11:36 AM
Post #157


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 145
Joined: 5-January 08
Member No.: 286



Does multiclassing Chi Warrior as a Pure Priest count as leaving the Priest bracket?

Thanks

Yes, generally rule is look at the buy as. If it gives you want it's in that bracket unless it specifically says its not.

Lee


--------------------
Banks Flashblade - Rasha Mystic
Clopin - Rasha Psi Master
Hassan Bin Mihr - Athar Crol Monk
Sterius - Alfar Forest Guardian
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Harrumph
post Sep 12 2017, 09:49 AM
Post #158


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,267
Joined: 23-November 07
From: check length
Member No.: 58



Hi, so let's assume I am a 6th level battlemaster - O class, I have bought greater blade fury, eye for an opponent and one on one

I'm assuming i can choose to apply blade fury and opponenet study in a number of ways

1. Just use a blade fury as 6pt damage reduction
2. Just use a blade fury as a greater blade fury for 1/6th off (no points damage reduction)
3. use a blade fury (with greater) and an opponent study (and one on one) for 1/6th off weapon blows and 9 pts off one person (so both the points and the fractional are stacking)
4. use blade fury (with greater) and eye for opponent for 1/4 off chosen opponent (and 1/6th off everyone else)

On top of the above options 2 and 4 - can i apply other damage reductions e.g. counter/contras so that i get a points damage reduction and a fractional

thanks, and apologies if this is obvious to everyone else
Richard

you are correct.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cildan
post Sep 12 2017, 12:48 PM
Post #159


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 859
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Epsom
Member No.: 71



Does everyone get Utilise Magic Item standardly?

priest bracket classes don't get it and farfolk don't.

Lee



--------------------
Elves are wonderful. They provoke wonder.
Elves are marvellous. They cause marvels.
Elves are fantastic. They create fantasies.
Elves are glamorous. They project glamour.
Elves are enchanting. They weave enchantment.
Elves are terrific. They beget terror.
The thing about words is that meanings can twist just like a snake, and if you want to find snakes look for them behind words that have changed their meaning.
No one ever said elves are nice.
Elves are bad.

Terry Pratchett

Longer Sig on request
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatteacher
post Sep 12 2017, 03:14 PM
Post #160


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,715
Joined: 2-February 10
From: Guildford
Member No.: 1,355



QUOTE(Harrumph @ Sep 12 2017, 10:49 AM) *
Hi, so let's assume I am a 6th level battlemaster - O class, I have bought greater blade fury, eye for an opponent and one on one

I'm assuming i can choose to apply blade fury and opponenet study in a number of ways

1. Just use a blade fury as 6pt damage reduction
2. Just use a blade fury as a greater blade fury for 1/6th off (no points damage reduction)
3. use a blade fury (with greater) and an opponent study (and one on one) for 1/6th off weapon blows and 9 pts off one person (so both the points and the fractional are stacking)
4. use blade fury (with greater) and eye for opponent for 1/4 off chosen opponent (and 1/6th off everyone else)

On top of the above options 2 and 4 - can i apply other damage reductions e.g. counter/contras so that i get a points damage reduction and a fractional

thanks, and apologies if this is obvious to everyone else
Richard

you are correct.

Lee

Am I right in thinking the points reductions from blade fury and counter/contra mastery don't stack?


Yes, the rules are:

You can apply one fractional
One numerical
One Percentile

reduction to any weapon blow, unless both types of reduction say they stack (So if you had two stacking 3 points, you could have 6 points off).

In general racial fractionals (EG Dwarf 1/2 effect magic, 1/2 elf half spirit) will stack with relevant tables resistances to that power base (So a dwarf with 1/2 effect fire can have 1/4 effect pure flaming magical weapons, or a 1/2 elf with greatness of spirit can half quarter effect).

As a note if you have "stacking" damage reductions they probably need to be checked with me.

Lee


--------------------
Andy

......................................
Godric Snowsson - Ice Mana Knight / Warrior 5k
Ginkgo Panama (aka 'Dead Man Walking') - Kensai 3.1k
Grandbow - Human Spirit Warrior - 570pts
Noyen Nopac Zu - Snake Clan Monk 1.9k

'It can't rain all the time!'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 07:52 AM
Original Darkness Skin Created by Danellis
Converted by Mdgshorty of New Horizon Skins