IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Ask the GSM!
MarkCox
post Nov 19 2010, 03:00 PM
Post #1


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 3,137
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 69



Please use this thread to ask the GSM a question!
This is for general questions rather than specific character stuff.


MCC


--------------------
Skywest and Crooked
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
6 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 19)
SamR
post Sep 14 2014, 09:44 PM
Post #2


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 540
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 92



Do you get to know what a dying effect is before choosing whether to apply your resistance to dying effect?

I think you should as it is pretty boring being on the floor for 5 minutes, its rubbish when there is an OOC lottery in choosing and it leads to stupid scenarios like elves having to fall over for 5 mins to a spiritual stairway to death?

Surely you get hit by the firestrike or whatever and can choose to suck it up or fall over for 5 mins.

S

It's never been written down. My personally opinion on how it should work is you are aware of the dying effect and can decide at that point to apply it or not. No working out how much damage you take and if it would kill you or not. Just a "You take this dying effect, do you want to fall over?" Yes/No answer. Sort of like a retro really. Not doing it this way is basically just a bit rubbish with the way the system has evolved.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iainwimble
post Feb 16 2015, 01:27 PM
Post #3


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,556
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 87



In the new Almanac it list the Hollow Bone Goblin tribe can play Forest Guardians and Leywalkers but not the base life.

Any chance can have the life's for these goblins.

Thanks Iain

Leywalkers use life as a Silverfolk Spy (35/12 at 8th) and forest guardians and Forest guardians have life as a Goblin pathfinder (39/15 at 8th)

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SamR
post Jan 3 2017, 04:21 PM
Post #4


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 540
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 92



Do all abilities that require prep time require that ability to be used immediately following the prep or can they be 'stored' up for later? Examples of the top of my head include: strike death blow, affinity with nature, flick of the wrist, mighty strikes and permutations but there are many more.

Thanks
Sam

yes they do scorpion. Concentration also can't be done when being hit/actively parrying monsters or the like.

I also remind people about the rules for locs being severed applies to corpses.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
draco
post Mar 1 2017, 05:02 PM
Post #5


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 739
Joined: 22-July 08
From: Sidcup
Member No.: 598



What is the consequence of being level drained with regards to life, power, resistance and casting levels?

How long does it take to come back?


Everyone will hate you now for asking this but:

You lose a level from you base class. For system and battle-boarding ease this means:

Your level of casting is reduced by 1 (so a 1st class priest can't cast 8th lvl miracles).
You lose a level of resistance
If your base life is from your base class it drops.
Your maximum power for power uses if reduced (so an 8th level warrior priests with 24 spirits, drops to 6th, his max spirits becomes 18).
If the ref is brave enough you lose supernatural innates (so neuronics, AP, etc.), but often this is easy to do.

They are earnt back like levels, so if I am reffing it's about 10 encounters to get one back, but depends on the situation.

Lee





--------------------
James Isteed

Isteed.Labyrinthe@outlook.com

(the big one)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FlorenceWarren
post May 19 2017, 12:22 PM
Post #6


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 410
Joined: 13-February 15
From: Medway
Member No.: 4,112



If you've bought the Spiritual Vessel MR, can you still cast a Spirit Invis? And if yes, what would be the effect of that spirit invis?

Is it the same as before, you're just immune to all Spiritual effects? or does it (Like Paul reckons) either act as a sort of vanish animate and you stop existing for the duration, or does it just kill you?

Thanks in advance

You can't cast it as you are spirit only.

As a general rule you need to have "hits" (as in can take damage from" at least one power base. So no being Immune to physical damage (immortal), casting spirit invis, mind barring, and casting earth shield for example.

Lee


--------------------
"That is not dead which can eternal lie and with strange aeons even death may die." - H.P Lovecraft

Florence
----------
Taris - Anti-Elf Causing priest.
Vex - Ratfolk Scout.
Rye - Elysian Pure Priest.
Fester - Ratfolk "Warrior" Assassin.
Charlie - Ratfolk Healing Priest - RIP.
Bean - Human Blademaster.
Josephine Flashblade - *That* Noble Monk...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post Jul 21 2017, 01:10 PM
Post #7


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,996
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



The Priest Status: Witness of Hidden Secrets

The “Detect Life” ability (assuming it’s not a typo and meant to be Detect Lie!) how does it function? 20’ range like other Detect abilities or is it more a 1” discern?

Is it supposed to have a verbal?

(OK, so I'm entirely willing to buy the whole status just for the spirit point reduction as both my neutral priests but it would be nice to know what the rest of it does! smile.gif )

BBB

It's a typo as mentioned in another thread, so is Detect Lie.
Lee



--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Forefallen
post Aug 16 2017, 07:57 PM
Post #8


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 411
Joined: 2-December 14
Member No.: 4,026



Wind dancer life at 8th is 51/15, but 7th is 48/16, is this a typo and it's meant to be 51/17?

You have 29/9? or more sensibly 51/17 is correct.

Lee


--------------------
Tarek - Ishmaic Psi/dancer Golem -
Kurai - Amlesian Monk
Jata - Amlesian Troll Shaman
Laurelion - Ebony Drave Silver/Jade Wizard
Killian - Half Dark Elf Red Warlock
Joshua De Fontaine - Pure Priest/Legendary Shaehan Assassin
Sun'so - Amlesian Wizard
Amatir - Mortimancer
Sparek - Black/Brown/Silver Faerie Blanket
Alfie Autumn - Human Mystic with a twist
Hilliam Wunt - Lets not talk about this one...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cildan
post Sep 12 2017, 12:48 PM
Post #9


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 890
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Epsom
Member No.: 71



Does everyone get Utilise Magic Item standardly?

priest bracket classes don't get it and farfolk don't.

Lee



--------------------
I will give you some free advice, though.”
“Will it cost me anything?”
“What? I just said it was free!” said Miss Tick.
“Yes, but my father said that free advice often turns out to be expensive,” said Tiffany.
Miss Tick sniffed. “You could say this advice is priceless,” she said, “Are you listening?”
“Yes,” said Tiffany.
“Good. Now...if you trust in yourself...”
“Yes?”
“...and believe in your dreams...”
“Yes?”
“...and follow your star...” Miss Tick went on.
“Yes?”
“...you’ll still be beaten by people who spent their time working hard and learning things and weren’t so lazy. Goodbye.”

Terry Pratchett

Longer Sig on request
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatteacher
post Sep 12 2017, 03:14 PM
Post #10


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,852
Joined: 2-February 10
From: Guildford
Member No.: 1,355



QUOTE(Harrumph @ Sep 12 2017, 10:49 AM) *
Hi, so let's assume I am a 6th level battlemaster - O class, I have bought greater blade fury, eye for an opponent and one on one

I'm assuming i can choose to apply blade fury and opponenet study in a number of ways

1. Just use a blade fury as 6pt damage reduction
2. Just use a blade fury as a greater blade fury for 1/6th off (no points damage reduction)
3. use a blade fury (with greater) and an opponent study (and one on one) for 1/6th off weapon blows and 9 pts off one person (so both the points and the fractional are stacking)
4. use blade fury (with greater) and eye for opponent for 1/4 off chosen opponent (and 1/6th off everyone else)

On top of the above options 2 and 4 - can i apply other damage reductions e.g. counter/contras so that i get a points damage reduction and a fractional

thanks, and apologies if this is obvious to everyone else
Richard

you are correct.

Lee

Am I right in thinking the points reductions from blade fury and counter/contra mastery don't stack?


Yes, the rules are:

You can apply one fractional
One numerical
One Percentile

reduction to any weapon blow, unless both types of reduction say they stack (So if you had two stacking 3 points, you could have 6 points off).

In general racial fractionals (EG Dwarf 1/2 effect magic, 1/2 elf half spirit) will stack with relevant tables resistances to that power base (So a dwarf with 1/2 effect fire can have 1/4 effect pure flaming magical weapons, or a 1/2 elf with greatness of spirit can half quarter effect).

As a note if you have "stacking" damage reductions they probably need to be checked with me.

Lee


--------------------
Andy

......................................
Godric Snowsson - Ice Mana Knight / Warrior 5k
Ginkgo Panama (aka 'Dead Man Walking') - Kensai 3.3k
Grandbow - Human Spirit Warrior - 750pts
Noyen Nopac Zu - Snake Clan Monk 1.9k

'It can't rain all the time!'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ryan
post Sep 13 2017, 10:37 AM
Post #11


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,775
Joined: 23-June 08
From: Essex
Member No.: 574



I was chatting to Redman's Friend and the subject of Jade mana - 60/60 healing for 3 mana came up as brilliant as he was a spiritless Demon.

I remember you once saying I couldn't benefit from something Jade as an Angel once on Dungeon as I wasn't alive, I assume because of this Angel's and Demon's aren't living?

He doesn't care either way as Heart Attack just knock's him unconscious so immunity to it would be as useful as healing...

Cheers

PC Demons and Angels are alive unless they have somehting to say they are not.
Monsters depends on the ref's statting.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
graham1980
post Sep 17 2017, 10:06 PM
Post #12


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 444
Joined: 16-January 09
From: Hertfordshire
Member No.: 810



Is it possible to be both night soil and baronies??

Thanks

Graham

No

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
graham1980
post Sep 22 2017, 04:46 PM
Post #13


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 444
Joined: 16-January 09
From: Hertfordshire
Member No.: 810



Should a sorceror MC to grey wizard and buy cromatic, would this prevent him from using his sorceries, or prevent him from acquired advanced sorceries??

Thanks.

It works as written. So you can only cast standard spells. Meaning base spells o nsorcorial list are fine, but advance ones are not.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miles
post Sep 25 2017, 04:22 AM
Post #14


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,966
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 142



If a silverfolk buys clairvoyant or para psychic do they count as entering the neuronic bracket or are they enhancements to there race as they can buy them slightly cheaper in the books as a racial buy as

Miles

They're entering the bracket.

Lee


--------------------
The game is not always about balance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bendy
post Sep 25 2017, 12:16 PM
Post #15


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 166
Joined: 11-March 16
Member No.: 4,749



Slightly odd question but if I 'cast' dominate at a target do I automatically know if it's successful or not or do I need to ask them to jump up and down or something first just to see wink.gif

Ta

Ben

You don't know.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cildan
post Sep 30 2017, 12:54 PM
Post #16


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 890
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Epsom
Member No.: 71



If as a brown wizard you path to witch, would you only be able to cast neutral or 'mantic neutral miracles?

It depends on your alignment. If you are neutral then yes, if you are evil then only evil.

Lee


--------------------
I will give you some free advice, though.”
“Will it cost me anything?”
“What? I just said it was free!” said Miss Tick.
“Yes, but my father said that free advice often turns out to be expensive,” said Tiffany.
Miss Tick sniffed. “You could say this advice is priceless,” she said, “Are you listening?”
“Yes,” said Tiffany.
“Good. Now...if you trust in yourself...”
“Yes?”
“...and believe in your dreams...”
“Yes?”
“...and follow your star...” Miss Tick went on.
“Yes?”
“...you’ll still be beaten by people who spent their time working hard and learning things and weren’t so lazy. Goodbye.”

Terry Pratchett

Longer Sig on request
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
graham1980
post Oct 17 2017, 10:42 AM
Post #17


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 444
Joined: 16-January 09
From: Hertfordshire
Member No.: 810



do specilialist slots acquired fomr different sources stack, such as a sorceror buying +2 slots as warlock them MC to wizard and buys +5 slots??

It depends, but in that example no.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BennyB
post Oct 21 2017, 10:01 PM
Post #18


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 848
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Hampton Hill
Member No.: 43



I'm a little confused about how the faerie ability "Chaos" works...
The description:
Innates (but not colours) are chosen at the beginning of each adventure.

So if I were a faery with my innates of:
4 x disintegrate ® (2mp black)
4 x bind (3mp brown)

Can I?
A) Choose a different 2mp black and 3mp brown innnates
I.E.
4x venom (2mp black)
4x magnetise (3mp brown)

cool.gif Have to keep the levels
I.E.Choose four 2mp black innates and four 3 mp brown so
2x venom & 2x disintegrate ®
1x bind & 1x magnetise & 2x entangle

C) Don't have to keep the levels, but can't move them between colours
I.E. Choose 8mp of black innates and 12 mp of brown
1x Dancing venom sword
2x Summon gnome 'child'

D) Don't have to keep the levels and can move them between colours
I.E. Choose 20mp of black and brown innates
10x Disintegrate ®

E) Something else

I've always assumed A but I thought I just wanted to check...

Thanks

Ben

Option A

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phoenix13
post Oct 25 2017, 11:43 AM
Post #19


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 215
Joined: 30-September 16
From: Kent
Member No.: 4,986



Can I be a ratfolk spy. In the race book it says that ratfolk can be spies but in the scout book it doesn't give the lifescale of a ratfolk spy.

They can and have same life as human.

Lee


--------------------
Mystigan - seer - 4th
Gremin - warrior priest - 562pts
Kirito - oriental monk - fortune - 35pts
Channor (nature) - high druid ratfolk - around 250pts
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JamesC
post Oct 30 2017, 10:35 PM
Post #20


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 7-August 12
Member No.: 2,469



Lets say you had 6 DAC and 6 MAC and bought the ability of immunity to bruising DAC + MAC

If you are hit with a pure magic single or a physical single are you immune to bruising with them through this ability or would you also need to also buy the relevant individual bruising immunities?

It depends what the immunity to bruising says. The published immunity to bruising using DAC, MAC and SAC specifies that it is vs pure mantic blows, as an example.

Lee


--------------------
"A soldier's first battlefield is always his own mind"

One man monster support.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

6 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st April 2018 - 03:43 PM
Original Darkness Skin Created by Danellis
Converted by Mdgshorty of New Horizon Skins