IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

15 Pages V  « < 13 14 15  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ask the GSM!
miles
post Feb 6 2020, 01:03 PM
Post #281


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,222
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 142



If I wizard with a mantic plate on him cast a magical earth shield does the mantic plate remain granting the sac and pac or does it go down.


Miles

It remains

Lee


--------------------
The game is not always about balance

Apply rule 7 and don't overthink it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Netheril
post Feb 8 2020, 08:18 AM
Post #282


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 988
Joined: 23-September 12
From: Surrey
Member No.: 2,516



If in magic / spiritual / neuronic LTM do you have to be healed by that power base to regain consciousness?

Or can you still be healed by other power bases as not actually fully immune to them, just tblp?

Sean

People are over complicating it.
You can be healed normally because the power base still effects you and heals you normal life, which is what you need healed.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ThomI
post Feb 11 2020, 11:08 AM
Post #283


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 231
Joined: 24-November 07
Member No.: 124



Trolls may not acquire more than +3 DAC. Does this mean that:

a - Trolls are capped at 3 DAC, and cannot benefit from any more in any way
b - Trolls may only purchase the first 3 points of DAC from the tables, but can benefit from bonus DAC from elswhere (Guilds, Bless/Curse/Watchings, Items etc.)
c - Mystery Third option.

Thanks,
Thom

option Bish, just don't try and get loads of DAC from classes/etc.
Basically 3 dac from abilities, a bless/chosen, then guilds and items is fine.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MarkD
post Feb 11 2020, 04:22 PM
Post #284


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 21-June 12
Member No.: 2,413



Does the first wind apply to:

1. Force-trap, since it is a forcewall around you and you would be stopped by a forcewall

2. Bind since it affects your footwear and not you

Cheers,
Mark

yes because the spell targets you. If its targeted and not damaging/has a non-damaging element it applies.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cildan
post Feb 11 2020, 10:53 PM
Post #285


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,093
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Epsom
Member No.: 71



Would a purely spiritual creature be able to walk through a 'mantic Walll Of Stone?

If they had walk through walls (so a wraith) yes.

Lee


--------------------
I will give you some free advice, though.”
“Will it cost me anything?”
“What? I just said it was free!” said Miss Tick.
“Yes, but my father said that free advice often turns out to be expensive,” said Tiffany.
Miss Tick sniffed. “You could say this advice is priceless,” she said, “Are you listening?”
“Yes,” said Tiffany.
“Good. Now...if you trust in yourself...”
“Yes?”
“...and believe in your dreams...”
“Yes?”
“...and follow your star...” Miss Tick went on.
“Yes?”
“...you’ll still be beaten by people who spent their time working hard and learning things and weren’t so lazy. Goodbye.”

Terry Pratchett

Longer Sig on request
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alasdair
post Feb 12 2020, 06:23 AM
Post #286


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,116
Joined: 5-December 07
Member No.: 208



Just to understand this properly...

I think I read:

Can have 3 DAC
_And also_ benefit from a bless
_And also_ benefit from guilds/items

So Bob the Troll gains 3DAC from tables, 2 from a bless/chosen, 1 from Front Line, and gains an item of +1DAC, then Bob can use 3 (capped) +2, +1, +1 = 7 DAC

(I had expected the opposite: you have 7 DAC but this is capped after other calls to allow you only to benefit from 3)

Do I have this right (DAC7 in this case)?

Al

Yes. The restriction is a buy as restriction not a "Cannot have more than" restriction.

Lee



QUOTE(ThomI @ Feb 11 2020, 11:08 AM) *
Trolls may not acquire more than +3 DAC. Does this mean that:

a - Trolls are capped at 3 DAC, and cannot benefit from any more in any way
b - Trolls may only purchase the first 3 points of DAC from the tables, but can benefit from bonus DAC from elswhere (Guilds, Bless/Curse/Watchings, Items etc.)
c - Mystery Third option.

Thanks,
Thom

option Bish, just don't try and get loads of DAC from classes/etc.
Basically 3 dac from abilities, a bless/chosen, then guilds and items is fine.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ironcore
post Feb 12 2020, 06:39 PM
Post #287


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 318
Joined: 4-September 09
Member No.: 1,177



Hi lee,

If in a stealth does solitaire still apply assuming your not breaking the restrictions?
If yes, does it also apply if in another form of chameleon?

Thanks Andy

yes

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ironcore
post Feb 12 2020, 07:42 PM
Post #288


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 318
Joined: 4-September 09
Member No.: 1,177



Sorry lee,
From my last question would it also make you immune to perception/super natural perception?
Or is perception/ super natural perception just a ‘feeling’ rather than a power based observation?

Thanks again, Andy

no they are not supernatural sights.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NickBurne
post Feb 17 2020, 01:17 PM
Post #289


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 370
Joined: 24-November 16
Member No.: 5,060



Hello Lee,

Does the ability 'Non Academis' apply to all pathfinder subclasses or just pathfinders? I'm pretty sure it's just pathfinders but wanted to make sure.

Thanks,
Nick.

As a general rule if the buy as says Pathfinder it is just pathfinder and those classes that buy as pathfinder.

Lee


--------------------
Nick.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kail
post Feb 19 2020, 07:29 PM
Post #290


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,477
Joined: 12-August 08
From: Rochester
Member No.: 644



Can wizards go magical artisan? If so how much?

yes, and it says 500 to 6th in 16.3

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sharperoc
post Feb 23 2020, 11:43 AM
Post #291


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 31-August 11
Member No.: 2,027



Lee couple of spell interactions I'd like an answer to (mostly to win arguments)

1.) I cast a know foe
- Can an opponent summon a magical weapon (Sword of Power/Sabre) and beat me to death with it
2.) I have a passive dispel 6 on myself
- I get hit by a sword of power, does it get dispelled?
3.) I have a passive dispel 6 on myself
- An unbound shade child hits me, does it get dispelled


Thanks
Stevie

Easy:
Yes
Yes
Yes, assuming it was summoned with the black spell and not the grey one.

Lee


--------------------
Stevie Harper
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RichardCraig
post Feb 23 2020, 12:23 PM
Post #292


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,973
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 112



Enhanced Passwall–Passwall is now at will, this costs 6 TBLP per use.

Mastery of Passwall–One use of passwall now allows the Samila to walk through earth/stone walls (this includes worked stones) for 5 minutes.

Because Ryan won't shut up about this - the above are the standard (and possibly over powered for points costs) abilities that Samila can buy, I assume because they are in 29/9 and can do very little.

To my reading - the first ability grants pass wall @will, the second enhances it so that it grands walk through walls for 5 mins. As the commonly accepted wording for 1/day powers is as an example:

Physical Beguile1/day–As per the miracle, but requires 60 seconds talking to the target to activate.

And the wording for at will ablites is this:

Mastery of the Touch–Use of the touch now only causes the loss of ½ a level.When successfully used it additionally causes 12 points of magical cold baseddamage to the location touched and the equivalent TBLP (4 hits to monsters).

I have interpreted this to be an at will ability but as Ryan was sad about his fire Goblin he doesn't think it works this way.

It saddens me a little. It is one use, so just a badly worded once a day.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JasonE
post Mar 8 2020, 04:52 AM
Post #293


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 401
Joined: 14-June 08
Member No.: 564



Hi Lee

Invisibility Specialist means you can't be seen by elemental sight

If you cast a mantic Invisibility and have Invisibility Specialist does that mean you cannot be seen by spirit sight as well?

Thanks in advance

No it doesn't, but would be a cheap upgrade.

Lee


--------------------
J - The thing known as Dog
- Tyrone (twiglet Wizard, because they are yummy)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MarkD
post Mar 11 2020, 05:59 AM
Post #294


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 277
Joined: 21-June 12
Member No.: 2,413



Does a mantic prot vs all spirits prevent an elven wizard from blinking across it?

Cheers,
Mark

If they are effected by the prot yes.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DavidFisher
post Mar 12 2020, 05:11 PM
Post #295


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,108
Joined: 28-March 08
From: Ottershaw
Member No.: 446



Hi Lee

If my character is immune to F&B, I can't drink potions - all clear.

Can I rub scent inhibitor on my skin or strengthening salve?

Thanks

David

Nope, nada.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Benjos75
post Mar 13 2020, 04:32 PM
Post #296


Apprentice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 19-March 18
From: Chingford
Member No.: 6,488



Hi Lee,

I have a goodly pathfinder with the skill utilise single spirit item. Does this mean I can use goodly AND neutral spiritual items?

Thx in advance,

Ben

Yes

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

15 Pages V  « < 13 14 15
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th March 2020 - 05:19 PM
Original Darkness Skin Created by Danellis
Converted by Mdgshorty of New Horizon Skins