IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  « < 3 4 5  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ask the GSM!
Alasdair
post Jul 23 2018, 05:57 PM
Post #81


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 962
Joined: 5-December 07
Member No.: 208



If a Power Master MC wizard (of own colour), can they:

1. Use standard grey spells
2. Use specialist slots
3. Second colour?

Cheers

Alasdair

You've gone wizard, so you get buy as and spells as Wizard.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Netheril
post Jul 23 2018, 08:13 PM
Post #82


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 510
Joined: 23-September 12
From: Surrey
Member No.: 2,516



Seen multiple ways of reffing this.

So is there an actual rule about what normally happens if you:

A) magically transport across a spiritual warding
cool.gif spiritually transport across a magical warding

Or is it just warding / ref dependent?

Cheers,

Sean

published wardings work as written. What the ref sets is up to them, but normally shifting across spiritual warding triggers them.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JamesC
post Jul 24 2018, 09:49 AM
Post #83


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 361
Joined: 7-August 12
Member No.: 2,469



If you are either a player or a monster that has a last hit and you are struck by an effect that instantly kills you such as ToD or Annihilation go you die or are you dropped to your last hit?

If it is last hit then you still die.

Lee


--------------------
"A soldier's first battlefield is always his own mind"

One man monster support.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Netheril
post Jul 24 2018, 04:19 PM
Post #84


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 510
Joined: 23-September 12
From: Surrey
Member No.: 2,516



Ward pacts. Do they exist outside the power base system?

Sirac is magic only, as such if I wardpact undead does it only effect those subject to magic or all?

Cheers,

Sean

they work because of the pact being between you and a relevant patron.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
graham1980
post Jul 25 2018, 10:15 AM
Post #85


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 491
Joined: 16-January 09
From: Hertfordshire
Member No.: 810



in the old green druid book there was an ability called "tribal ancestry" for alfar, for 40 points table 0, however it was not put into the new evolutions, Does this ability still exist and was just not put in the new book or was it removed??

thanks

Graham


It's an error, should still be there.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
IronMan
post Aug 11 2018, 04:11 PM
Post #86


Apprentice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 70
Joined: 6-December 14
Member No.: 4,039



What level undead do you become immune to TOD and suspend life

Thanks Sam

Assuming you mean using the standard multi-race, level 6.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alasdair
post Aug 11 2018, 09:14 PM
Post #87


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 962
Joined: 5-December 07
Member No.: 208



A wizard can embody an elemental. They suffer if that elemental is negated.

Looking at Elements Bound MR, there is a minor ability that says the wizard no longer needs to summon an elemental to embody it. Presumably this means that when embodied they cannot be negated at all/ elemental cannot be dispelled.

Do I understand that correctly?

And.. now that they have a strong elemental affinity, what does that mean on elemental sight? Do they look to their own colour elemental like ‘one of their own’?

Cheers

Alasdair

Nope.
They can still be negated by other elementals, they just draw their inner elemental out.
They couldn't have the "Elemental" dispelled, but could still have the embody dispelled.
No, they aren't an elemental they are just close it.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Luinmir
post Aug 14 2018, 07:01 AM
Post #88


Nightsoil


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 16
Member No.: 4,678



Hi

How do magic dispels against a mantic effect ( eg a mantic plate self )

Thanks

Luinmir
Gary

They fail.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Luinmir
post Aug 14 2018, 07:03 AM
Post #89


Nightsoil


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 26-January 16
Member No.: 4,678



Can some one tell what “immune to blood and flesh effects “ means
Also there are references in the multi class elemental elf as “full immunity to blood and flesh effects “

I can’t find any reference to what these actually mean

Thanks

Luinmir
Gary

There isn't a full definition, but it includes Pain, a lot of druidic evocations, potions and poisons, blood drain, some Onyx spells.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sharperoc
post Aug 17 2018, 12:30 PM
Post #90


Apprentice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-August 11
Member No.: 2,027



The T8 Spiritless Ability - Resistance to 'Mantics which originate from a spiritual effect, character suffers only 1/2 damage, does not affect resistance levels or duration.

How does this interact with Resistances to Spirit Bolt, Causing, Soul Lance etc?

Am I correct in thinking they won't stack as they are both a fractional reduction?

If you wanted to get better than 1/2 off, you would need to buy 1st Res, 2nd Res etc?

Should their be a 2nd Res to Causing/Spirit Bolt for Spiritless or do they pay the full points price after the 1st?

Resistance to mantics does stack with them, as resistances are normally 1/2 previous effect.
If you were using it s a damage reduction vs weapon blows then it wouldn't.


2nd and 3rd resistances ar enormal costs for Elves etc.

Lee


--------------------
Stevie Harper
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MattWest
post Aug 22 2018, 01:38 AM
Post #91


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,403
Joined: 15-August 08
Member No.: 653



Sheenie the human warlock is mana-raging with a 25% cold rage. I cast Weaken the Body on him and beat him with a Sabre of Darkness and Deceit. Presumably the +25% pure magical damage from Weaken the Body and the -25% from the rage simply cancel out and Sheenie takes normal damage? Rather than for example me having to multiply 75% by 125% to work out that he is taking 93.75% of normal damage or something mind-bending like that.

Now Sheenie upgrades to a 100% black rage, still mana-raging. This may be non-standard but can we assume it is the most basic kind of 100% mana rage imaginable. Presumably the +25% from Weaken the Body comes off the 100% reduction so Sheenie only has a 75% reduction, and a sabre quad would do him 6 points if he is immune to the blast effect. (He didn't think he needed any DAC or MAC because he has a 100% rage...)

I am just trying to think of a situation where I would actually want to cast Weaken the Body...


Just don't over think it. Apply the increase in effect then apply the damage reduction. Simple.

Lee


--------------------


OOC:- Matt West

IC:- A. bin Razil of the Carrion Scavengers Hetyan (Ishmaic Onyx Wizard and Knight of the Land, suitable for a Max 1500); Yosh (monastically trained knife-thrower, suitable for a Max 2k, semi-retired); Hassan bin Kassim of the Perished Sands Hetyan (mage, suitable for a Max 1500); Haram of the Blackened Bones Hetyan (please smile for the crazy evil witch!) (suitable for a Max 750); Flaig (Pilgrim of the Forge, around the 500 mark, played on Borderwatch guild specials); "Murk" ('the Mercenary formerly known as "Sunflower"') (as featured in Primal Times No. 24) ("suitable" for a Max 1K, allegedly); Sahra bin Flambo of the Placid Waters Hetyan (290 points of fire and spear, plus any monster points; "Sahra" means "Desert"); various others


A longer version of this post is available on request.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MarkD
post Aug 26 2018, 01:27 PM
Post #92


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 148
Joined: 21-June 12
Member No.: 2,413



Could a purely spiritual character using a mantic weapon affect a mantic formed creature (but not a mana formed one), in the same way that an elf with a mantic weapon can (but not a spirit formed one)?

Cheers,
Mark

Yes

Lee


--------------------
Hermish Hashmere - 5k - Dwarven Champion of Moradin
Vicent Straw - 2k - Aspiring Kallah Lord of Scarlene
Jibril Ibn La'Ahad - 500 - Noble Ishmaic Grey Warden of Night and Day
Frist - 1k - Pink Glittery Faery
Kerius Rend - 1.5k brown/red warlock from deci (Neutral Chaotic all the way!)
Ishan Karr - 1k - Samila golem summoner

"Just because we're all doomed, doesn't mean we can't have a good time." - An Anonymous Existentialist
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatteacher
post Aug 26 2018, 09:48 PM
Post #93


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,954
Joined: 2-February 10
From: Guildford
Member No.: 1,355



Benefits from different guilds don’t stack but what happens when one gives you abilities that then give you access to a benefit already gained?
Example: Frontline gives +1DAC & Totemic Guardians gives Primal Soul minor and medium benefits. Could you choose the +2 DAC and it stack or not please?
Thank you

yes they would stack. I think it even says it somewhere in the Almanac.

Lee
]


--------------------
Andy

......................................
Godric Snowsson - Ice Mana Knight / Warrior 5.2k
Ginkgo Panama (aka 'Dead Man Walking') - Kensai 3.4k
Grandbow - Human Spirit Warrior - 750pts
Noyen Nopac Zu - Snake Clan Monk 1.9k

'It can't rain all the time!'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sharperoc
post Aug 29 2018, 10:38 AM
Post #94


Apprentice
**

Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 31-August 11
Member No.: 2,027



Scarlene Kallah Benefit
QUOTE
'True Believers may be used to cast relevant denominational miracle (up to 6th)'


The Talthar Denominational is learnt as a 7th Level Miracle but you can cast for the basic tier as 4 spirits
QUOTE
'It costs 4 spirits to gain basic tier, 8 for intermediate and 12 for advanced'


Is it reasonable to work on the basis that the basic tier casting is effectively a 4th Level Denominational Miracle and therefore could be used by a Scarlene Kallah?


{I] Yep totally reasonable.

Lee [/I]


--------------------
Stevie Harper
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Edd
post Aug 31 2018, 03:51 PM
Post #95


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 445
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Edenbridge
Member No.: 80



Can a Vessel of the Dead use twist the form to embody a Vampire? It's an undead that needs a body so works as written, but unlike other undead it uses a living sacrifice and slays said sacrifice as part of the summoning.

Thanks,

Edd

I thought I had answered this, but can't find it. So I'm going to say:
yes you can BUT you need a sacrifice to channel it through. So lay out victim, be in prot with them. Cast it and wait the 5 min for it to arrive. When it arrives the 15 minutes start.

Lee



--------------------
The Place Spirit of Season's Winding - Immortal Seasonal Place Spirit
Alistair Flashblade - Armoured Priest of the Balance
Adleheim - Circle Psi-Master
Ishan bin Akir - Galahbhad Paladin
Loads of others who never get past 250...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Netheril
post Sep 1 2018, 04:59 PM
Post #96


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 510
Joined: 23-September 12
From: Surrey
Member No.: 2,516



Some wizard master/apprentice questions...

1) Are the benefits perm once bought? Even if the master or apprentice perm dies? As the learning remains. Mainly important for me (master) as if the casting levels are not perm cant use them for learning new spells.

They are permanent and remain

2) If the benefits are perm, can the rebirthed character still buy a new apprenticeship with the same master, both paying 15 pts again. Effectively meaning the master gains another casting level for another "new" apprentice.

No. The apprentice could rebuy, but the master already has the ability (so doesn't need to pay the points again).

3) Can I apprentice someone who is more pts than me?

Yes

4) Can I apprentice two characters belonging to the same player? In this case, one ivory, one gold, neither will effectively ever meet.

Yes in theory, but often best avoided

Cheers,

Sean

And yes you can apprentice to your master in a weird teacher becomes pupil way.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phoenix13
post Sep 3 2018, 12:15 PM
Post #97


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 283
Joined: 30-September 16
From: Kent
Member No.: 4,986



Is a character aware of a disease before the 5 minutes? If they were unaware IC they were diseased?

assuming the standard miracle no. But if the person has an instant discern disease (priest not druid) it's not unreasonable to assume they check themselves regularly.

Lee


--------------------
Gremin - warrior priest - 954pts
Kirito - oriental monk - fortune - 204pts
Channor (nature) - high druid ratfolk - 440pts
Astro - Red/blue faerie - wizard - 427pts
Demraz - Thug - 272pts
Dezlin - Cavalier -6th
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post Sep 5 2018, 02:35 PM
Post #98


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 9,259
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



What happens to points spent on a Guild Status should the guuld blow up?

I assume the benefits if the status are lost if the guuld dies.

Are these points then just dead points?

Or could they be respent?

BBB

They become wasted points, just like they would in the unlikely event Knigths went boom.

Yes it is an investment in the guild and incentive to keep them going.

Lee



--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  « < 3 4 5
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2018 - 04:50 AM
Original Darkness Skin Created by Danellis
Converted by Mdgshorty of New Horizon Skins