IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Queries about the new books
sonof
post May 16 2016, 12:00 PM
Post #1


GSM
********

Group: Members
Posts: 3,697
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Lives in the caves... apparently
Member No.: 54



Please ask the queries about rules in the new books here.

Lee


--------------------
Please send points apps to: pointsapp@labyrinthe.co.uk

And send system questions etc. to: Lee@labyrinthe.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DanM
post May 16 2016, 12:04 PM
Post #2


Post Police
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,550
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Dartford
Member No.: 38



QUOTE(sonof @ May 16 2016, 01:00 PM) *
Please ask the queries about rules in the new books here.

Lee



In OI

Can you opt to take "Emotionless" as an existing neuronic character?
What happens with emotionless and the benefit of buying adept about emotion restrictions?

Yes you can, and adept doesn't change. It means its 30 seconds before you neuronics come back.

Lee


--------------------
QUOTE(Helsvell @ Oct 19 2010, 07:29 AM) *
A one-man revolution against the world.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dnsmantra
post May 16 2016, 12:45 PM
Post #3


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,970
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 111



Are Silverfolk really not outlawed anymore?

Where do you want me to post typos, misprints and so on for v16.2? (as I have a few).

Huw

silverfolk are still wanted, dead or alive.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GNW
post May 16 2016, 01:07 PM
Post #4


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 267
Joined: 8-December 11
Member No.: 2,146



If something is costed differently this time around can you keep what you have already purchased at old price or do you need to refund and re-buy it?

you get a refund and re-buy it at the new cost if you want to keep it.
Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iainwimble
post May 16 2016, 01:12 PM
Post #5


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,488
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 87



Can a Troll who has gained 1/2 effect Fire go Fire Demon gain complete Immune to Fire.

Iain

P.s thanks to everyone who put their time into creating these new books.

they can go fire demon, but the restriction about resistance to fire still applies, so they don't gain complete immunity.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Helsvell
post May 16 2016, 02:33 PM
Post #6


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,968
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Medway
Member No.: 47



Can classes which do not have a 1st class buy-as (such as Leywalkers) but the new statuses? Can classes which start in two brackets buy statuses from both?

the status' are not 1st class buy as, they are based on your base class being in the relevant bracket. So if your base class is in the warrior bracket you can buy them. So for ley walkers they are scouts and druids, so can buy both.

Lee


--------------------
Peter Smith
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mart07
post May 16 2016, 03:23 PM
Post #7


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,201
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 57



In Wiz Grim, would a Chromatic Wizard who buys Metallic Wizard only gain/be able to cast Jade if goodly and Onyx if evil?

Thanks,

M

correct goodly for jade, evil for onyx, neutral suffer.

Lee


--------------------
The devil comes to Moscow wearing a fancy suit. With his disorderly band of accomplices including a demonic, gun-toting tomcat he immediately begins to create havoc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post May 16 2016, 06:29 PM
Post #8


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,742
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



Can High Wizards take the Natural Talent Status and remain a High Wizard? i.e. does it negate the class restriction about reading mana glyphs?

BBB

no

Lee


--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post May 16 2016, 08:08 PM
Post #9


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,742
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



What colours can Faeries take? There does not appear to be a restriction on them being "New Colours" it just says "Standard Spell".

Have they changed or are the same as previously?

BBB

they have indeed changed. New fairies can be "new" (as in around longer than some players have been alive) colours. This doesn't let existing one change.

Lee


--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Leo
post May 17 2016, 08:21 AM
Post #10


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,526
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Claphham
Member No.: 44



If I buy immortal to 6th but not the upgrade, so I'm immune to physical damage but not physical effects, can I still call physical effects?
What about damaging physical effects like poison?

Physical effects yes, damage no.
Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MattJ
post May 17 2016, 08:59 AM
Post #11


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 3,299
Joined: 14-April 08
From: Purley
Member No.: 472



Now that Word of Command exists (Bronze Spell) isn't Power Word Die now completely redundant (i.e. 1 is 4 mana less, has the same immunities apply and can be used as a VOP die in any event).

I agree I can't see any reason you'd want Power Word Die really, and if people want to respend it they can.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
markradford
post May 17 2016, 05:05 PM
Post #12


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 343
Joined: 6-February 10
From: kent
Member No.: 1,369



hi lee

thank you to you and all the other people who put time in on this project.

1 quick question so far I have purchased the table 6 total immunity to neuronics and in the new books you need psionic retardation .am I correct the above ability will stop working till the pre-requisite has been purchased,and if the is any other pre-requisites added to any other abilitys they would need to be purchased as well? seems correct but just a quick check

mark

[i] Correct it's 40 points more basically.
Paladin etc. Spiritual buy as has changed, so worth checking that out.
Pathed characters and casting mantics.
Fire elf and complete immunity to fire.
Having a position of power anywhere.
Can't think of anything else off the top of my head.


--------------------
Mark Radford,main character Jet Brown Wizard of Earthome
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BennyB
post May 17 2016, 06:00 PM
Post #13


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 814
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Hampton Hill
Member No.: 43



Philosophical questions : Should toughened skull (immunity to subdual damage) still be there? And if so is there a description of subdual damage?

Nope, it is tradition smile.gif

I can't see 'e' skill for goblins anywhere, I think that this went before these books and was in miscellaneous meandering. Altogether possible that it has been deliberately removed. Just wanted to check.

Goblins don't get E skill, enjoy smile.gif

I'd also like to echo the thanks of all above to everyone who has been involved with putting the books together.

Ben

Thank you

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stuart
post May 17 2016, 08:21 PM
Post #14


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,317
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 39



Given you can acquire new colour glyphs as specialists, can any colour wizard now read scrolls of them? (Wiz Grimoire, p.90, 4th Bullet Point)

Can Warlocks now read teaching scrolls of combat-related glyphs without an ability?

Ta

Stuart

yes and yes.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ryan
post May 18 2016, 08:50 AM
Post #15


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,714
Joined: 23-June 08
From: Essex
Member No.: 574



Level Drain - Sorry Wraith's Touch...
Appears to have a duration of Permanent, can levels no longer be recovered without an external influence or do they still naturally return?

Cheers

It's always been permanent, since instant would mean they come back straight away. You can get them back just as you used to be able to.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Estarriol
post May 18 2016, 02:00 PM
Post #16


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 280
Joined: 5-December 13
Member No.: 3,211



Is there any difference in system terms between a longbow and a shortbow (damage grades etc)?

not at all

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Estarriol
post May 18 2016, 05:15 PM
Post #17


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 280
Joined: 5-December 13
Member No.: 3,211



Scout Book - Specialist states that Quin becomes the new base for Surprise Blow. Does this include Greater Surprise Blows or is that still based on Quad+Backstabs?

yes it includes greater surprise blows.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ironcore
post May 19 2016, 04:37 PM
Post #18


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 4-September 09
Member No.: 1,177



Scouts (and wizards) - I assume they can now read any colour basic magical scrolls (apart from opposite if they have a colour)?
No alignment restriction for reading the 'new' colours?

Andy

Correct, except for jade/onyx and sabre spells.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Woad
post May 20 2016, 09:15 AM
Post #19


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 107
Joined: 23-November 07
From: East Sussex
Member No.: 83



Morning all,

I don't suppose it's possible to order the new books online/via the phone and have them delivered?

Thanks,
Jonathan

Email the booking lin and Duncan should be able to help.

Lee


--------------------
Jonathan. S


Sticking feathers up your butt does not make you a chicken.


Aliases:
Woad - Brown Power Master/Warrior/Elder Fey
Broken Tooth - Rat Warrior
Go Kun - Ebony Wizard
Jacob Friend - Mystic
Tou Ill Lei - Dark Elf Scout
Karsten - Human scout

My D&D blog:
http://dungeonjaeger.blogspot.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iainwimble
post May 20 2016, 06:13 PM
Post #20


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,488
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 87



Is count as 7th going to be removed as Steal Life Essense is no longer needed ??.

Iain

it is no longer on the tables.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 02:36 AM
Original Darkness Skin Created by Danellis
Converted by Mdgshorty of New Horizon Skins