IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Queries about the new books
Leo
post May 20 2016, 10:46 PM
Post #21


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,526
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Claphham
Member No.: 44



If I'm an evil priest and I buy "servant if carnage" and then buy light of glass to stop being evil, do I lose the benefits of servant of carnage?

Yes

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rob
post May 21 2016, 08:12 AM
Post #22


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,018
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 115



So...

Elemental bound - great new race

If someone is bound to a colour - for example an ivory wizard elemental Lord - can they multi race bound elemental (gnome) and still cast the racial spells and innates?

Similarly a red wizard gone mancer who has not second coloured - can he go elemental bound sylph (aka purple people eater) and have access to the racial spells and innates

Ta

Rob

If you have a specific restriction then you can't use the spells, so ivory Elemental Master would be out, as would a mancer unless they had them as a colour.
Elemental Master would be ok though, as they are not specialists and the restriction is on specialists.

Lee


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post May 21 2016, 12:42 PM
Post #23


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,742
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



So, I made an assumption about the wonderful new statuses that you couldn't buy multiples of them unless you were a dual class, like say Psi-Master, in which case you could take one neuronic and one warrior.

However its been pointed out to me that it doesn't actually say that anywhere.

So, can a character buy as many of them as they like with the usual proviso that abilities e.g. Extra life, spirits don't stack from other statuses and you just take the best of each?

And why are there no Statuses for Pure Colour Wizards? A lot of the statuses have benefits related to Specialists.

I know they are intended as examples but it would have been nice to have one for 'mancers / Elemental Lord types.

BBB

Each bracket is different and it says in the description bit for each bracket how it works. Wizards is only one as it represents how they learn spells, Druids can have several. it is intentional. Dual bracket classes (warlocks) can get status' from both brackets.
You answered the question in that colour pure wizards already have an ability in Elemental Master for them.

Lee



--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post May 21 2016, 08:42 PM
Post #24


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,742
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



Armoured Defence in the Armour Master MC. IS that a 5 minute Rockskin style defence or a one blow defence?

Its not really clear. Seems pricey for a one blow and cheap for 5 minutes.

Also, was there any particular rationale for allowing Priests to buy innates of Advanced Miracles post 6th Devout Priest but not allowing Wizards to buy inates of Advanced Spells post 6th Archmage?

Or Druids, Arch Druid and Advanced Evocations for that matter?

BBB

5 minute defence.
Druids get the option of doing them post some of their status'.
I also want a difference between the classes, the big one is wizards can get over double the power of priests so seemed fair that priests have a slightly better innate buy as, which has always been the case.

Lee



--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Estarriol
post May 22 2016, 10:43 AM
Post #25


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 280
Joined: 5-December 13
Member No.: 3,211



If a class buys as 2nd class X as part of its base buy-as, does it buy as "1st class Any" in that bracket? (I'm thinking of Vivomancers if that makes any difference - do they count as a 1st class in either priest or wizard bracket?)

Vivomancers are essentially pathed from 1st level - does this mean that like a pathed wizard or priest, they could also multiclass to a different bracket?

Vivomancers do badly in that they are second class wizards and priests, so no they can't but 1st class any.
They are also specifically in two brackets and pathed rather than the normal being in one bracket and pathed to the other.
They have got better though (lost the buy as penalty) with the new book but are still a niche class

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Estarriol
post May 22 2016, 10:45 AM
Post #26


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 280
Joined: 5-December 13
Member No.: 3,211



You can take 1 multiclass and 1 path to 8th. If these are both standard multiclasses (e.g. Warrior Priest paths wizard and multiclasses to Ranger), does this mean you get the buy as 1st class 4 times benefit for both?

yes

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ironcore
post May 22 2016, 12:08 PM
Post #27


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 4-September 09
Member No.: 1,177



Wizards Grimoire

In relation to my previous question.
(P90 making scrolls)
Still reads that only New Colour wizards can read new colour scrolls

I don't know what you mean that line doesn't exist, no honest it doesn't.....

Just ignore it, it's wrong smile.gif

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ironcore
post May 22 2016, 05:44 PM
Post #28


Levy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 4-September 09
Member No.: 1,177



ATSE

How does 'magical concealment' differ from using 'solitaire' as both make you immune to elemental/mana sight?
'Solitaire' being a perquisite for 'magical concealment'

thanks

You can trigger magical concealment when you are carrying items, have attacked or otherwise broken the Solitaire restricitons

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
graham1980
post May 23 2016, 11:38 AM
Post #29


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 406
Joined: 16-January 09
From: Hertfordshire
Member No.: 810



I have just been reading the statuses at the books, and have a few questions

can a character purchase more than one status


Should a spirit warrior takes a status that grants power do they retains or does it become 0 until they take spiritual choice


conversely is the same true from above for vochstellen, i am assuming so.


Thanks

Graham

Each class has different rules and it says per class.
Spirit warriors can only use the spirits if they have spiritual choice, you are correct. Likewise vochstelen, wayfinders etc.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Estarriol
post May 23 2016, 07:41 PM
Post #30


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 280
Joined: 5-December 13
Member No.: 3,211



QUOTE(Estarriol @ May 22 2016, 11:43 AM) *

They have got better though (lost the buy as penalty) with the new book but are still a niche class


Thanks for the previous answer. Can I ask what does "niche class" mean in practice - are niche classes meant to be weaker than mainstream classes, or are they meant to have the same level of potential as mainstream classes but you need more work (yellow paper) to get there?

Another way of asking is that when you are looking at points apps, do you think "oh well you chose to play an X, bad luck if you wanted to be as good as a mainstream class" or do you tend to give the niche classes more latitude because they start out weaker?.

Thanks for answering this sort of question - I'm not meaning to be difficult, but I and I'm sure quite a few other players really value being able to understand how you see things.

weaker no, just less open to newer players. So Vivomancers benefits are all based on them being Elysians, and from there the being mancers etc.
They are very good at the lower end of the system (mantics early etc.) but as they go up the points a priest gone wizard, or the like, over takes them. Do they have potential, yes. But no one has really gone for it. The high points vivomancers have been class changes (soth) or perm died and rebirthed (Remstar/Bob) before going far enough to establish anything.
I guess hey are a bit like Power Warriors, people haven't done much with them so what is out there to publish is limited.

Lee

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iainwimble
post May 24 2016, 07:04 AM
Post #31


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,488
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 87



Is it right that Paladins who have gone Battlemasters can no longer as standard by Holy Words ??.

Iain

Not quite. In order to buy a holy word of any type you must have an innate of every miracle on the basic tree. So if you go battle master you won't be able to use some of these

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
graham1980
post May 24 2016, 10:48 AM
Post #32


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 406
Joined: 16-January 09
From: Hertfordshire
Member No.: 810



another question or two

Are 2nd class paladin UC and GK now in both the priest/warrior bracket

Also, the alignment chart for creating a miracle list has change, so am i assuming that in theory any neutral priest can have up to 9 spirits of goodly miracles on his list regardless of thier l/c outlook??

No Paladin etc. are just in the warrior bracket.
Neutral priests pick either good or evil and can then cast neutral and that alignment. Their base list can have up to 10 spirits of the relevant alignment. So C/N can have 10 good or 10 evil.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
graham1980
post May 24 2016, 11:55 AM
Post #33


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 406
Joined: 16-January 09
From: Hertfordshire
Member No.: 810



Ok another one for spirit warrior but i think this will be the last one for a little while, honest

Can spirit warriors benefit from the free casting granted by power mastered (may cast 1 miracle from thier major sphere of up to 3rd once per hour for 0 spirits) and similar abilities??

Yes

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post May 24 2016, 12:31 PM
Post #34


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,742
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



QUOTE(graham1980 @ May 24 2016, 11:48 AM) *
Neutral priests pick either good or evil and can then cast neutral and that alignment. Their base list can have up to 10 spirits of the relevant alignment. So C/N can have 10 good or 10 evil.

Lee


Actually WFA under miracle list creation it now says that if you have 10 or more good spirits worth of miracles then it's a goodly list and if it has 10 or more evil then it's an evil list.

Which is a change from previously having up to 10 good made it LN and up to 10 made it evil CN.

Can we assume that is an error and it should be as it was previously that it's having more than 10 good or evil miracles stops it being a neutral list and that, as the new intention that you can be CN/NN/LN and have up to either 10 good or evil spirits worth of miracles on your list?

BBB

Yep it should be more than 10.

Lee


--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stuart
post May 24 2016, 06:58 PM
Post #35


Legend
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,317
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 39



Should duellists and kensai be on the list of characters who can get Contramastery all weapons (Y:10 and T:11)? I've always thought of them as better at it than warriors and monks. Maybe it's a points app?

Why does Greater Rainbow exist, when it's much better to buy Specialists 2, 3 and 4?

Stuart

Nope. They get to be good against swords a lot easier. If they want all weapons then it's go battlemaster or be a warrior smile.gif


Honestly I can't see a reason anyone would buy it, but it's been there for a while.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Leo
post May 24 2016, 10:06 PM
Post #36


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,526
Joined: 23-November 07
From: Claphham
Member No.: 44



I've just seen that baronies Demons can be priests now.
It says that if they're evil they have to follow the spiter.

In light of recent events, can they now choose a different faith, or does praying to the spiter still work?

good timing isn't it smile.gif Spiter day stuff is still being worked out but getting spirits from the "spiter" still works at the minute.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
graham1980
post May 25 2016, 10:06 AM
Post #37


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 406
Joined: 16-January 09
From: Hertfordshire
Member No.: 810



Ok. to much book reading to assimlate. Just been looking at the race book. A troll or ogre taking Onie or fortune from the amlesian status, day they gain human intellegence, does this mean if they are a wizard they no longer need to purchase thier way up thier casting levels. Like wise does this mean trolls no longer have thier restrctions on buy as because they were always based on trolls being thick as 2 shourt planks??

Similarly, those who were witchdocters become wizards, does this mean they may choose any colour avaible to thier alignment or are they still limitied according to the witchdoctor colour they chose??

and one for more spirit warrior, How does bound spirit work and similar work for them, i am assuming once again they cannot use them unless you have spiritual choice or spiritual acceptence.

It jus changes their intelligence, they still need to buy up their stats and have the same buy as. It just means they can roleplay normally.
Colour wise no, they are still limited on their base colours.

And correct on spirit warriors.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhurrell
post May 25 2016, 10:37 AM
Post #38


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 553
Joined: 18-October 14
Member No.: 3,966



Races book
Spiritual vessel - the description talks about them abandoing the physical world and by 6th they're immune to all bar spirit.

So - are they purely spiritual and therefore can walk through walls? Gain Spirit sight? If not I'm assuming they maintain a physical manifestation, but nothing can meaningfully engage with it, therefore they could still pick up physical objects?

Dave

Think of it like a perm spirit form.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhurrell
post May 25 2016, 10:49 AM
Post #39


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 553
Joined: 18-October 14
Member No.: 3,966



Again from Spiritual Vessel (races book)
.. and would Spiritual Nature ( 1/2 effect all magic based mantics) count as relevant resistance to X based mana. In particular I'm thinking about mantic Annihilation, or would they still need to pay full 120pts cost for resistance to black mana which seems extreme for a remote scenario.

Thanks
Dave

It means if a mantic comes from a magical base you have 1/2 effect, just like the 1/2 elf ability for spirits.

Lee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rannock
post May 27 2016, 12:06 AM
Post #40


Peon
*

Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 13-October 12
From: Cambridge
Member No.: 2,547



Wizard's Grimoire, Page 25, it says that Vochstelen "may never under any circumstances acquire mana points".
I seem to remember that the previous ruling (as far as I can see on the forums), was that they may only acquire mana if the multiclassed to/from a class that was able to acquire mana points i.e. warlock or wizard.
Does this mean that this rule has changed?

David

If they go wizard or the like that's fine. I didn't notice it but it is probably badly written.

Lee


--------------------
Dave Preston

Current characters
Rannock Stoneheart - 653pt Elder Fey Brown Warmage
Magnus - 8th Level Rasha Warrior
Elrohir - 8th Level Jade Elf Pathfinder
Thaddeus - 6th Level Euphaban Sorcerer
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 02:32 AM
Original Darkness Skin Created by Danellis
Converted by Mdgshorty of New Horizon Skins