IPB WARNING [2] Declaration of class_bbcode::convert_emoticon($matches = Array) should be compatible with class_bbcode_core::convert_emoticon($code = '', $image = '') (Line: 0 of /sources/classes/bbcode/class_bbcode.php)
New and Curious - Labyrinthe Forum
IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New and Curious
post Sep 20 2015, 04:25 PM
Post #1

Group:
Member No.: 0

Hiya
I'm VERY new to LARping. Being 14 years old, it was something I always knew existed but always seemed rather distant. However, recently I started to do some more research, and the more I researched it the more it appealed to me. I'm a passionate actor, storywriter, and have participated in roleplays before (not a LARP, over the internet in a RPG). I found many promising websites, but this was the only one I could locate that did regular LARP's, and was also the only one that I felt wasn't overly restrictive of younger players (not that i blame them for that, but the concept didn't appeal to me).I have read through the info the site has given me, and it seems awesome. However, before I get around to costume and character building, i have many lingering questions that I would really appreciate answers to.
1. I understand the principles of the combat system. However, I would love to have a warrior character, but I'm not exactly fast or athletic. I'm not unfit either, but i do wonder how I can cultivate say, a swordsman, when I myself am inept with a sword?
2. Do you recommend any places to go to to buy mock weapons and costumes (preferably online), and what would you recommend home-made weapons be made from?
3. Are anti social (e.g someone who is solitary, or doesn't like people generally) or unfriendly characters tolerated?
4. How many people normally turn up to the LARP, and how big of a group can i expect to be with?
5. Are daggers allowed? (I ask because the principle of a dagger is to stab).