IPB WARNING [2] Declaration of class_bbcode::convert_emoticon($matches = Array) should be compatible with class_bbcode_core::convert_emoticon($code = '', $image = '') (Line: 0 of /sources/classes/bbcode/class_bbcode.php)
Crazy monk... - Labyrinthe Forum
IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Crazy monk..., Advice
Fenn
post May 10 2014, 11:22 AM
Post #1

Apprentice

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,313

I've got a character concept in mind but, as a newbie, I'd love some advice in helping me make it work.

I want to play a louche, roguish chap with a two-knife style.

I'm not interested in using magic, I don't want to use a shield or wear armour. I like the idea of being a perpetual drunk, utterly irresponsible, with no hope whatsoever of clinging onto my money.

Also selfish, but with a weird sense of honour and a ridiculous lucky streak that helps him to survive despite all the bad decisions.

I was considering a western monk as the base class, but would obviously need some apping to fit the concept.

I like the idea of using the monk base class, keeping all the restrictions but just giving everything a new explanation.

- The resistances are nothing to do with discipline and everything to do with a) luck; and cool.gif genuinely not caring - which for some karmic reason makes him harder to affect.

- "Must be Lawful" becomes "Must be Chaotic" - must act randomly and whimsically - otherwise he is deemed to care too much, and his luck abandons him.

- Cannot be affected by beneficial magic - this man is a gambler, an paragon of randomness and a thrill-seeker, and his warped sense of honour would be offended. Restriction as an evil Monk.

- Wealth and item restrictions represent the utter irresponsibility. Everything gets gambled away or just lost due to his irresponsible nature.