IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> laying out a multi class, question
Hulud
post Apr 2 2016, 08:49 PM
Post #1


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 28-February 09
From: Woodford Green
Member No.: 891



so when putting in a multi class, do you normally throw in a post 6th bit or is that reserved for when you put in 7 and 8 the levels with a post 8th?

is there a set way of doing this or is it just how many pages you want to pay for?

oh and does everyone really stick to a 12 point font?

thanks in advance.


--------------------
Neil.

PM box FULL - Please EMAIL me instead: neilmillard1@googlemail.com


-------------------------------------
Conroy Suman:Grey Wizard,Nicosia Roguri: Pathfinder,Valentine:Champion,Keyser Kint:Thug,Boone:Scout,Virgil:Oppressed Troll Ranger,Doris the Dagger:Drag queen/negotiator,Sid Snout:Editor of the Sunsday Snort.

He boiled for your sins

Ramen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daork
post Apr 2 2016, 10:00 PM
Post #2


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,398
Joined: 5-March 11
From: bromley
Member No.: 1,807



QUOTE(Hulud @ Apr 2 2016, 09:49 PM) *
so when putting in a multi class, do you normally throw in a post 6th bit or is that reserved for when you put in 7 and 8 the levels with a post 8th?

is there a set way of doing this or is it just how many pages you want to pay for?

oh and does everyone really stick to a 12 point font?

thanks in advance.


It is entirely possible to have both post 6th and post 8th to a multi-class, given you can only take one multi-class to 8th
A lot of people have their own points app layouts or you can just use the laby one
And I think the 12pt font rule is basically there to stop people taking the 'micky' with font size 7 paragraphs that should really be multiple sheets, worth noting though the default font size on the downloads isn't 12


--------------------
Dan Hunt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StuartEaston
post Apr 3 2016, 02:59 PM
Post #3


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,531
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 105



Sometimes I add a "post 6th may buy xx" underneath the multiclass if there is space, if there are a lot of options I normally put in a separate sheet. I always do size 12 font, although it doesn't really matter as long as you don't take the Michael. You're well within your rights to have a 1st to 6th, post 6th, 7th and 8th and post 8th abilities for a multiclass. Or a multiclass based on another multiclass, or a status based off the multiclass or a multiclass based off a status. Its more important that it fits a theme and builds up logically, rather than the format its in.

Personally I like post 6th stuff as it doesn't lock you into another class, and you can pick and choose what you buy, although you generally get less new abilities and more upgrades to the multiclass abilities.

Stuart
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hulud
post Apr 6 2016, 06:27 AM
Post #4


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 28-February 09
From: Woodford Green
Member No.: 891



Thanks for the replies guys, most helpful.

So, you are planning out your character and probably going to (over the course of time) take several multiclasses but only one of them can have levels 7 and 8...how are you choosing? what are you expecting from those levels 7 and 8?

or does it not really matter? because you can always just points app a 'post 6th' ability?


--------------------
Neil.

PM box FULL - Please EMAIL me instead: neilmillard1@googlemail.com


-------------------------------------
Conroy Suman:Grey Wizard,Nicosia Roguri: Pathfinder,Valentine:Champion,Keyser Kint:Thug,Boone:Scout,Virgil:Oppressed Troll Ranger,Doris the Dagger:Drag queen/negotiator,Sid Snout:Editor of the Sunsday Snort.

He boiled for your sins

Ramen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post Apr 6 2016, 07:16 AM
Post #5


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,673
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



Well, if you are taking a multiclass that takes you out of the bracket and gives you "buy as" that new bracket that is your first call of port for 7th and 8th because you can then get a limited buy as 1st Class in that new bracket

Typically Four 1st Class abilities.

If you are not leaving the bracket then its well worth waiting until you find out which multi-class you really want to specialise in

BBB


--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
miles
post Apr 6 2016, 08:10 AM
Post #6


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,926
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 142



Also good to remember your 8th level MC can be very char defining and there is stuff that will only be got via your 8th level slot, so think hard and get advice

Miles


--------------------
The game is not always about balance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Netheril
post Apr 6 2016, 08:23 AM
Post #7


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 270
Joined: 23-September 12
From: Surrey
Member No.: 2,516



QUOTE(BBB @ Apr 6 2016, 08:16 AM) *
Well, if you are taking a multiclass that takes you out of the bracket and gives you "buy as" that new bracket that is your first call of port for 7th and 8th because you can then get a limited buy as 1st Class in that new bracket

Typically Four 1st Class abilities.

If you are not leaving the bracket then its well worth waiting until you find out which multi-class you really want to specialise in

BBB


Really? Is this a rule nowadays, or just commonly accepted points app territory?

Presumably works the same if a warrior subclass takes a warrior m/c to 8th too then?

Cheers,

Sean
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Benson
post Apr 6 2016, 10:35 AM
Post #8


Hero
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,088
Joined: 18-March 08
From: Surrey
Member No.: 431



Yup it is.

So if I was a warrior and Mc'd 1st to 6th wizard, then brought 7th & 8th Wizard you would write, may buy 1 1st class ability per 3 tables reached, thats the norm.



QUOTE(Netheril @ Apr 6 2016, 09:23 AM) *
Really? Is this a rule nowadays, or just commonly accepted points app territory?

Presumably works the same if a warrior subclass takes a warrior m/c to 8th too then?

Cheers,

Sean







Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhurrell
post Apr 6 2016, 11:36 AM
Post #9


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 536
Joined: 18-October 14
Member No.: 3,966



QUOTE(Benson @ Apr 6 2016, 11:35 AM) *
Yup it is.

So if I was a warrior and Mc'd 1st to 6th wizard, then brought 7th & 8th Wizard you would write, may buy 1 1st class ability per 3 tables reached, thats the norm.



Jeez, I've been missing out!! Never bothered over the last 18 years to go to 8th as never saw it as worth it, but now I know...

Dave
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hulud
post Apr 6 2016, 12:22 PM
Post #10


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 28-February 09
From: Woodford Green
Member No.: 891



So I would be right in thinking that the 7th and 8th are only of particular importance if you plan on leaving the bracket?



--------------------
Neil.

PM box FULL - Please EMAIL me instead: neilmillard1@googlemail.com


-------------------------------------
Conroy Suman:Grey Wizard,Nicosia Roguri: Pathfinder,Valentine:Champion,Keyser Kint:Thug,Boone:Scout,Virgil:Oppressed Troll Ranger,Doris the Dagger:Drag queen/negotiator,Sid Snout:Editor of the Sunsday Snort.

He boiled for your sins

Ramen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nibs
post Apr 6 2016, 12:49 PM
Post #11


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 548
Joined: 19-February 08
Member No.: 388



Not just leaving the bracket, but getting any other type of 'Buy As' that also has some published '1st Class Only' abilities that you want


--------------------
Nibs
Plays:
[REDACTED] Tarkin (Black Seer)
Tubbs (750pts Border Friar)
Shugoki (250pts Amlesian ogre magi warrior of the jewel)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post Apr 6 2016, 01:12 PM
Post #12


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,673
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



QUOTE(Netheril @ Apr 6 2016, 09:23 AM) *
Really? Is this a rule nowadays, or just commonly accepted points app territory?

Presumably works the same if a warrior subclass takes a warrior m/c to 8th too then?

Cheers,

Sean


Its a "standard non-standard" when you apply for 7th & 8th.

Rumoured to just be standard when the new books come out. wink.gif

BBB


--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post Apr 6 2016, 01:14 PM
Post #13


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,673
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



QUOTE(Hulud @ Apr 6 2016, 01:22 PM) *
So I would be right in thinking that the 7th and 8th are only of particular importance if you plan on leaving the bracket?


No but its biggest impact is if you have acquired a new buy as in 1-6 then 7-8 will allow you some 1st Class stuff.

BBB


--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BBB
post Apr 6 2016, 01:14 PM
Post #14


Avatar
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,673
Joined: 10-November 07
Member No.: 25



QUOTE(dhurrell @ Apr 6 2016, 12:36 PM) *
Jeez, I've been missing out!! Never bothered over the last 18 years to go to 8th as never saw it as worth it, but now I know...

Dave


Don't worry, never really occurred to me either... 😊

BBB


--------------------
Grey's Law: Any sufficiently advanced incompetence is indistinguishable from malice...

PS, Yes, I know my PM Box is full. Email me instead... (Which you can do through the forums email)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Alasdair
post Apr 6 2016, 09:30 PM
Post #15


Heldsman
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 876
Joined: 5-December 07
Member No.: 208



7th and 8th in a MC or MR is an opportunity to do some really character defining stuff (or if bracket pure warrior, to buff up damage reductions)

For instance I have had/have
L7&8 Elder Fey based on a 'mist fey' theme for my fey thug. Lots of points for ebon drave innates, points and fraction damage reductions, misty gaseous forms etc. Plus more fey minor/major ability slots. (All Tied in to the character background I wrote down as an initial tendency when I started the character)

L7&8 for my hunter (warrior) for a sort of light based power master allowed foreleg parry, parry magic and some other stuff as well as increased casting and mana. Instead of buying this I went battle master...

L7&8 spirit warrior for an evil scout allowed me to more simplistically gain 4x buy as first class (for which I specified which abilities - cheaper probably as more definitive - and one was to buy MC Devout Believer (the one with the spirits of innates) at +25% cost... For walk through walls innates etc)

These are all *reasonable* and I doff my cap to Mr Fisher for the inevitable 'blows your mind' options.

Generally L7&8 of a standard class like spirit warrior seems to be at least 50% of 1-6 cost in points, at least where I have applied it. This expensive, but worth it to break into some new and fruity skills areas, etc.

The core rule... Build on a stated character concept over time. I've found Lee as GSM really good on this - feeding back with help when I've got things 'wrong' ... "Not like that, but could do ABC instead for x pts" (etc)

Hope that helps,

Alasdair
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Apr 6 2016, 10:34 PM
Post #16





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



Double post
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Apr 6 2016, 10:34 PM
Post #17





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



You can go to town with level 7 & 8 of a class or race

Few examples of stuff I have:

The most extreme:

Netherman Multiclass post netherman multirace
7th level earthmeld @ will
8th 2 retro shifts
Regen 24 tblps worth of shift neuronics per hour
No effect at will for 3 life for 5 mins 1/day
Post 8th immune to senses/detections including sense motion

Elder fey juggerorc
7th spirit invis innates become no verbal and no gesture
Druidic heals now heal 24/24 and perm and aren't flesh and blood effect on self
Imm. To flesh and blood bar poison
8th 25% off pure mantic becomes 50% 3/day
I am the juggernaut - statue form 1/day
A weird damage reduction
X innates of break down walls/thru binds/physical tangible stopping fx like golden box
Post 8th but the seven winds as ishmaic human

7th & 8th mist fiend

7th pains based spells give me life for 5 minutes so if a pain cast on me gives me +12 life for 5 mins, max 1 casting on me at a time
Immune to detrimental ebony mana

8th magic only
Imm. To ageing fx/time based effects/don't weigh any weight
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhurrell
post Apr 7 2016, 08:22 AM
Post #18


Militiaman
****

Group: Members
Posts: 536
Joined: 18-October 14
Member No.: 3,966



Wow. This thread has definitely been enlightening! I've been far too conservative with some of mine historically, and this has given me some nice ideas for a couple of current characters, thank you.

Any others people are happy to share?

I've heard that a few folks have m/c into same bracket, e.g. so a pure priest m/c pure priest to get a separate spirit pool and major sphere. Is it that simple or is there more to it? Anyone able to share such so example?

Dave


QUOTE(Labyman @ Apr 6 2016, 11:34 PM) *
You can go to town with level 7 & 8 of a class or race

Few examples of stuff I have:

The most extreme:

Netherman Multiclass post netherman multirace
7th level earthmeld @ will
8th 2 retro shifts
Regen 24 tblps worth of shift neuronics per hour
No effect at will for 3 life for 5 mins 1/day
Post 8th immune to senses/detections including sense motion

Elder fey juggerorc
7th spirit invis innates become no verbal and no gesture
Druidic heals now heal 24/24 and perm and aren't flesh and blood effect on self
Imm. To flesh and blood bar poison
8th 25% off pure mantic becomes 50% 3/day
I am the juggernaut - statue form 1/day
A weird damage reduction
X innates of break down walls/thru binds/physical tangible stopping fx like golden box
Post 8th but the seven winds as ishmaic human

7th & 8th mist fiend

7th pains based spells give me life for 5 minutes so if a pain cast on me gives me +12 life for 5 mins, max 1 casting on me at a time
Immune to detrimental ebony mana

8th magic only
Imm. To ageing fx/time based effects/don't weigh any weight

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatteacher
post Apr 7 2016, 05:00 PM
Post #19


Mercenary
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1,708
Joined: 2-February 10
From: Guildford
Member No.: 1,355



Can you use one of the 'Counts as 1st Class' slots to allow you to buy a multiclass linked to your 8th level MC?


--------------------
Andy

......................................
Godric Snowsson - Ice Mana Knight / Warrior 5k
Ginkgo Panama (aka 'Dead Man Walking') - Kensai 3.1k
Grandbow - Human Spirit Warrior - 570pts
Noyen Nopac Zu - Snake Clan Monk 1.9k

'It can't rain all the time!'
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Naga
post Apr 7 2016, 05:02 PM
Post #20


Mercenary
******

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,796
Joined: 23-November 07
Member No.: 118



You normally get

1MC
4 1st class slots
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 10:00 PM
Original Darkness Skin Created by Danellis
Converted by Mdgshorty of New Horizon Skins